Chocolate chip cookies

I feel like I should start with something basic here. Something I could bake in my sleep. Something I don’t have to refer to a recipe for because I’ve memorized it. Something that makes me so gosh darn happy.

Cookies!

Cookies were the first thing I ever made on my own. We had a Debbie Fields cookbook that I was obsessed with growing up, and my mom and I use to try different recipes from it. The Blue Ribbon Chocolate Chip Cookies were my favorite so I made them approximately 4720343589 times.  A few months ago I came across this recipe and fell in love all over again.

Sorry Debbie, you’ve been beat.

It’s a pretty basic cookie recipe, which is perfect for when I’m feeling sassy because I can add pretty much anything to it and they still taste amazing.

Ever wondered what Heaven looks like? I assume it looks like a pool of melted butter in sugar – but I could be wrong.

Or not.

For the most part I leave this recipe alone – nothing to change. EXCEPT the baking process. I tried the whole “breaking it apart and baking it all ridiculous looking” thing once..it was good, but I just don’t have that kind of patience every day. I also bake them for less time because I seem to think I’m exempt from salmonella. Whoops. But I have this crazy process that I’m convinced makes up for that – it’s all explained below.

Chocolate Chip Cookies (from How Sweet Eats and Cooks Illustrated, I think?)

2 cups + 2 T flour

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

12 T butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup regular sugar

1 egg + 1 yolk

2 t vanilla

chocolate chips, chunks, whatever makes you happy

Mix flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 325. Whisk butter and sugars until you create a grainy paste.

Add egg, yolk and vanilla and whisk until everything is combined. Add in dry ingredients slowly and mix until everything is incorporated. I’ve never had trouble with this step, but if the dough seems too dry just mix it with your hands – it will come together, I promise!

Add in chocolate. The recipe calls for 1 cup, but I just pour in however much I think looks right.

Scoop out about 2 tablespoons on a parchment lined cookie sheet. The cookies don’t spread too much so you can easily fit nine on a big sheet. Bake for 10 minutes – until the edges are set and the middle still looks a little doughy. Remove from oven and let sit on pan for one more minute. THEN slide the parchment paper (and cookies) off the baking sheet (carefully! you don’t want to lose any) and let the cookies sit for another few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling. That carryover cooking time on the baking sheet / parchment is what makes them perfect on the inside.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

