Banana Snack Cake

This week? Brutal.

Ever had just one of those weeks? I have absolutely no idea why this week has been bad, but it has. It’s like this weird feeling I can’t shake. Nothing has changed since last week, yet I just want to hide from the world. Today I realized that I had sent ridiculous text to two people (my mother being one of them) thinking they were the other person. Does that make sense?

No? Well either did these texts I sent them. They both replied and I still didn’t realize it. Finally today, TWO DAYS LATER, I saw what I did and wanted to slam my head into a wall. It’s a totally stupid thing to be upset over, but for whatever reason it’s been eating at me for the past seven hours. I mean,  when my mom asked how the food she sent home with me over the weekend was, I said “seriously, the whole thing was a little unnecessarily awkward but maybe it’s just me?”

Um, what the WHAT?! I meant to say “It’s all good”, but that went to my friend who was suppose to get the awkward text. Really? Talk about awkward.  I feel like I should call them both to apologize and explain myself, but I kind of think they’re over it because they’re not completely crazy. Also, because they have lives. Oh! And, I actually did talk to my mom yesterday and she didn’t bring it up…which means she thought it was a normal response from me. Slightly upsetting. And if you’re wondering, her food was amazing. Not unnecessarily awkward.

So that was today. Yesterday was pretty dumb too. When I got home from work I just wanted to crawl into my bed and listen to ‘Someone Like You” on repeat, but instead of doing that I cleaned my apartment because mess stresses me the eff out. Also, I thought doing something adult-like would make me feel better. Not that crying while listening to the most overplayed song on the radio isn’t something an adult would do. Anybody with a heart would do that. Obviously.

Anyway, while cleaning, I came across two suuuuuuper ripe bananas. Gross. You guys, I rarely buy bananas soley because I know I’ll forgot to eat them and then I’ll find them weeks later all spotty and ugly and I just can’t deal. But this time, in the midst of my almost-panic attack, I picked them up and set them on my counter next to the flour and sugar.

Yep, that’s right. After that ridiculous texting story you’re still getting a recipe.

But wait, first I had to finish cleaning. I cleaned this stupid apartment from top to bottom. From wall to wall to wall to the other wall. From kitchen to bathroom to bedroom. Perfect.

Then I baked this cake and spilled flour all over the flour. PERFECT.

Banana Snack Cake (from How Sweet Eats) – makes one 8×8 pan

1 egg

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 t vanilla

2 ripe bananas, mashed (original recipe calls for 3, fyi)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 t baking powder

1/2 t cinammon

1/4 t salt

3 T butter, melted and cooled

Preheat oven to 350. Spray your pan with baking spray.

Whisk egg and brown sugar until smooth and creamy. Add in vanilla and mashed banana and mix until incorporated. The banana will still be a little lumpy – it’s cool. Add in flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Lastly, stir in melted butter. Pour into pan and bake for 20 minutes.

P.S. I made this cake last night, but took the photos during my lunch break today. Below is what happened between that time. No shame.

*I am fully aware that my life isn’t really that hard. I know other people have it worse than me – I totally get that. Sometimes a girl just has to complain a little, you know? Also, laugh. Life is funny.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Julia

     /  February 9, 2012

    You don’t need anyone to validate how you feel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

