One.

photo copy

Today is a special day. The type of day that calls for sprinkles ( although one could argue that EVERYDAY calls for sprinkles, but whatever). My baby (blog) turns one today!

And luckily for us all this is just a blog, and not an actual baby. We all know that if this was an actual child it would grow up with some major issues due to neglect and over consumption of sugar.

DSCN1283

So today I just wanted to share my thanks and cupcakes with you all. I started this little bloggity blog because I wanted to share my love of food with the world/internet. I also needed an excuse to make a lot of food all the time. I also had a new camera I wanted to play with. All valid reasons to come here once in a while and talk about cookies and puppies and lipgloss, right?

Since it’s the beginning of a new year (seriously, where is my life going??) I could sit here and talk about the highlights of this year. How exactly one year ago I was baking cookies for my first post, while hiding from my extremely creepy neighbor (omg remember him?!), and then when I was moving from said creepy neighbor and found a whole lot of pizza dough in my freezer. Or remember that time I baked red velvet chocolate chip cookies, but wrote about how the last episode of Sex and the City turns me into an emotional monster obsessed with ice cream? And we certainly can’t forget about the time I put beer in cupcakes. And then when I did it again – Britney style. Oh, and sometimes I make normal (i.e. not dessert), healthy food too. Sometimes. Then I moved to San Francisco and started acting like I didn’t have a food blog. But I promise I think about this blog all the time and I really do want to be a better blogger!

Oh hey, remember when I became best friends with a parrot?

DSCN1285

So to start this year off I figured I should go back to what this blog has always been about from the beginning.

Me and food. Specifically, me making (and eating) ALL THE FOOD. In my defense, I did find a recipe that only makes two cupcakes – obviously 18 less than I would prefer to eat. Hey, I need to fit in my clothes sometimes! But let’s be honest, there’s a reason I call these single girl cupcakes.

It seemed perfect for today though. One girl in one kitchen making one (okay, two) cupcake(s).

And from the bottom of my sugar-filled heart I wish I could bake every single one of you a cupcake, cover it in chocolate frosting and sprinkles and hand-deliver them to you with a hug. And maybe some wine. Thank you a million times for reading!

DSCN1290

Single girl cupcakes (from How Sweet It Is)

serves 2

1 egg white

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup flour

1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder

pinch of salt

1 1/2 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with 2 liners.

In a bowl, add egg white and sugar and whisk until combined and a little frothy. Add in vanilla and melted butter and stir until mixed. Then add flour, baking powder and salt and stir until everything is smooth. Lastyl, stir in milk. Divide batter equally between the 2 cupcake liners.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes, or until cake is set. Let cool completely before frosting and attacking with sprinkles (if you’re into that sort of thing).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

