Zucchini Sweet Potato Bread

The first time I made this bread I basically cried because grating a sweet potato is hard and I don’t like to exert that much energy when baking. Seriously, have you ever grated a sweet potato? It’s like grating a rock. So I stuck the damn thing in the oven and vowed I would never make the bread again, even if it was good.

Then I tasted it. Stupid taste buds.

I tasted it again. And again. Aaaand again.

You guys, this bread is good. Spicy good. You can’t even taste the sweet potato and zucchini – it’s like magic!! It’s moist and dense, and since I added chocolate to the original recipe it’s pretty much perfect in every way. It’s one of my most requested recipes – and by that I obviously mean my parents ask me to make it sometimes.

I do make it for friends, but they don’t always ask for it. I just give. I’m annoying nice like that.

Make this bread. And buy that Baileys coffee creamer – but don’t get the fat free kind. My parents are silly.

Zucchini Sweet Potato Bread (adapted from Joy the Baker)

2 cups flour (all-purpose or whole wheat pastry works best)

2 t cinnamon

1 t freshly grated nutmeg

1/2 t allspice

1/4 t cloves

1 t baking soda

1/4 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup regular sugar

3/4 cup vegetable oil*

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

~ 2 cups grated zucchini

~2 cups peeled and grated sweet potato

1 cup chopped chocolate (whatever kind you like!)

1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

Dried fruit (optional)

* You can substitute applesauce for some of the oil if you prefer a little less fat in your bread. However, I haven’t tried this so please don’t be upset if it doesn’t work out. Joy the Baker seemed to have success though, and she’s kind of awesome so you’re probably safe.


Preheat oven to 350. Mix all the dry ingredients and set aside.

In another bowl mix the sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla. Add in grated zucchini and sweet potato and mix until combined. Gently stir in dry ingredients. Finally, fold in the chocolate, nuts, fruit, whatevs! It’s totally up to you – just know that chocolate makes the world go round.

Pour batter into a loaf pan and bake until an inserted knife / toothpick comes out clean. This can take anywhere from 1 hour to 1 hour 40 minutes – depends on your oven. Best thing to do is just check it after an hour, and then every 15-20 minutes after that. Jog in place while you’re waiting because this bread probably isn’t as healthy as I like to pretend it is.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

