Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Hiiii cookie dough. Love of my life.

The only thing more beautiful than a bowl of cookie dough?

This. Cookies for everyone!

If we’re being completely honest, oatmeal raisin is not my favorite. I prefer chocolate in my cookies and raisins in my, um….. oatmeal. That’s not to say I didn’t eat (1)7 of these bad boys – I’m just saying they’re not my favorite. I mean, I have a favorite pair of jeans but I wear other pants too. Duh.

I based this recipe on the regular chocolate chip cookies I make, and I’m pretty proud of the results. Soft and chewy. Oatmealy and raisiny. Although the willpower it took to not dump a pound of chocolate of chips in the batter was tiring. I deserve a cookie.


Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (based on these beauties)

12 T butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup regular sugar

1 egg

2 t vanilla

1 cup flour

1 1/2 cups oats (I used quick-cooking, but rolled will work too)

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 c raisins (more if you really like them)

Preheat oven to 325. Whisk butter and sugars until you create a grainy paste.

Add egg, yolk and vanilla and whisk until everything is combined. Add in flour, oats, baking soda and cinnamon and mix until everything is incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips raisins.

Scoop out about 2 tablespoons on a parchment lined cookie sheet ( I use a cookie scoop – it’s my favorite). The cookies don’t spread too much so you can easily fit nine on a big sheet. Bake for 11 minutes – until the edges are set and the middle still looks a little doughy. Remove from oven and let sit on pan for one more minute. THEN slide the parchment paper (and cookies) off the baking sheet (carefully! you don’t want to lose any) and let the cookies sit for another few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling. That carryover cooking time on the baking sheet / parchment is what makes them perfect on the inside.

Pack them up and take them to work. Proceed to tell everybody they are health food because oatmeal and raisins are good for you. Done!


P.S. Where have the last 12 years gone? It’s this guy’s birthday today.

He can barely contain his excitement.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awww look at Max’s face!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

