Greek Salad

Salads and I have a weird relationship.

I love them, but I’m always trying to change them. Yet I want them to stay the same. I want to keep adding delicious fatty things like cheese, bacon and more cheese to my bowl of lettuce, but I want it to stay healthy. Like, I don’t want the cheese and bacon to be held against me since I’m still eating a “salad”.  And if I go out and get a salad I fully expect it to be as delicious as a cheeseburger, while still allowing me to feel good about myself.

I don’t really feel like I’m asking for much, but I also kind of feel like you’re looking at your computer screen wondering who the crazy lady typing these words are and why hasn’t anybody told her to stop?

Anyway.

On Saturday I really wanted a salad. I wanted big chunky vegetables, juicy tomatoes, salty cheese and no lettuce. I wanted big flavors with little work so I could go back to watching old episodes of Law & Order: SVU.

Oh hey, now you know how exciting my Saturday nights are!

So I made the marinated feta and let it sit while I watched Stabler and Benson take down some bad guys. Then I got up and put the salad together while listening to “Ours” by Taylor Swift on repeat. Then I stuck it in the fridge and went to go watch another episode of SVU while all the flavors married each other.

Then I accidentally ate two muffins for dinner.

Good news: This salad makes a delicious Sunday morning breakfast as well. Win!

I adore Greek flavors. And this salad is one of my favorites – especially when I’m trying to pretend like I would make an awesome vegetarian.

Greek Salad (serves four as a side dish)

Marinated feta

8 oz feta, cut into bite sized cubes

1/8 c olive oil

1/4 t black pepper

1/2 t red pepper flakes

1/2 t dried oregano

Mix everything together and let feta marinate in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before putting salad together. Any leftover can be kept in the fridge for a few days. It’s delicious in pasta, or even in other salads!

Salad

1/2 large english cucumber, cut into bite sized chunks

10 cherry tomatoes, halved

1/4 red onion, finely chopped

10-15 black olives, halved

4 oz marinated feta

1-2 T olive oil

Juice of half a lemon

salt and pepper

Mix the cucumber, tomatoes and onions with the olive oil and lemon juice. Mix well so everything is coated with the oil and lemon. Then add in the marinated feta – I used about half of what I made, but feel free to use it all. The seasoning on the feta is what gives the whole dish flavor. Give it all a good mix and add salt and pepper to taste. Remember feta and olives are both a little salty, so be careful.

Let sit in the fridge for at least 1 hour, longer if possible.

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

