Sweet potato and sausage hash

I saw the most peculiar thing at the gym today.

A woman was running back and forth across the gym. Like from the entrance to the other side of the gym – in between the ellipticals and the archtrainers (otherwise known as HELL). I couldn’t stop staring at her. I mean, isn’t that what treadmills are for? Running? And there was infact, an empty treadmill right next to me. So, yea.

Normally I’m not about making friends at the gym. I certainly don’t ignore people but that’s not really why I’m there. But the fact that this lady was running back and forth in front of me, as oppose to next to me, was actually really bothersome. I can admit that I don’t look awesome when I’m working out, but I certainly don’t look like Shrek. I wear decent workout clothes, if only because feeling cuter makes me want to workout more. My hair is kind of a mess, but I wear a headband and I’m pretty sure that’s on trend. AND I had gone straight from work which means I still had makeup on (not good for my skin, I know)! I like to think I’ve become a more graceful runner, but I could just be lying to myself. That doesn’t matter though – I run next to crazies all the time! So I managed to convince myself that this woman just had something against me. Obviously. I think the worst part was that nobody else seemed to mind. That’s when I really started to go crazy. There were all these open machines, a lady running wild and I was the only one who thought something weird was happening? I didn’t know I was paying $12 a month to lose my mind you guys! This is why I should workout at home. Alone.

The good news is that I was so consumed with this woman that I didn’t even realize I had worked out for longer than I normally do. So to the lady who would rather run around the gym than run next to me – my body thanks you. For now. I’ll probably be sore tomorrow.

Also, this has nothing to do with the recipe below. I just really wanted to tell that story to the internet.

So, sweet potatoes. Actually there is no good story to go with a sweet potato dish. Unless you want to hear about the tantrum I throw every time I have to cut the damn vegetable?

Believe me, the running lady story was better.

Oh, and if you really want to be cool, fry up an egg and serve it on top of this dish. It’ll make your Saturday morning – and this is coming from someone who doesn’t like eggs that much. Want to be uber cool? Drink it with a mimosa. Best brunch ever.

Sweet Potato Hash – inspired by Joy the Baker (serves 2)

3 cups sweet potato, diced ( I like to keep the skin on)

1 t ground cumin

3-4 t olive oil

1/2 red pepper, diced

1/2 yellow onion, diced

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 t paprika

1/2 t fennel seeds

2 green onions, chopped

1 link chicken sausage ( you can use any meat you want, or no meat at all!)

2 cups baby spinach

salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400. Toss the diced potatoes ) with 1-2 t of oil, the cumin and salt and pepper. Lay them out on a baking sheet – try to get them in one layer. Bake for about 25 minutes, flip and bake for 15-20 more until the potatoes are roasted and browned on the edges. Set aside while you make everything else.

In a large pan heat the rest of the oil. If using, cook the sausage link until it’s completely seared on the outside. I normally cook it about halfway through, take it out of the pan, slice it up and then finish cooking – I find that it keeps the casing from burning before the inside finishes cooking. To avoid this hassle you could always just use precooked meat. Add the onions and red pepper to the meat and saute for a couple of minutes, until the onions are soft. Add in garlic, paprika and fennel seeds and saute for one more minute.

Add the potatoes to this mixture and let everything cook together. A few minutes before serving add in green onions and spinach. Turn the heat off and cover the pot so the spinach wilts a little.

Enjoy because it’s the weekend and you have time to make brunch! Or because it’s Tuesday night and you’re hungry!

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

