Rosemary olive oil donuts

You guys. I bought a donut pan.

I now want everything in donut form thankyouverymuch.

Blueberry muffins? Psh, more like blueberry donut.

Cornbread? Boring! Corndonut is more like it (it sounds gross but I’m sticking to my story).

Also, did you know donuts didn’t have to be filled with sugary goodness? I know, so weird. I learn so much sometimes.

Remember those muffins from the other day? And remember that friend I talked about who gave me the juice that punched me in the face? Well this same friend also came in one morning with a stack of recipes she wanted me to make. She’s a gem.

No, but seriously. It’s awesome. Not only does it give me more material for this blog, but it also gives me a chance to try new things. Also, DONUTS. Did I mention they’re baked? So anybody who ran away screaming at the thought of me being around a pot of hot oil can come back now. I know better than to try deep-fry anything in my tiny kitchen. Alone. I’ve kept the fire department from this place so far – let’s keep that going.

The original recipe she handed me called these “fonuts” because…they are fake donuts? I don’t know. I didn’t quite appreciate it so it’s back to donut. I also had to do some measurement overhaul because I bought a normal sized pan that makes six donuts instead of a mini one that makes 24. But listen, I’m just not into these mini-things. They’re cute and all, but I just don’t get it. Although I’m sure people who eat mini things also wear mini clothes. But if I was that concerned about mini clothes I wouldn’t have bought any sort of donut pan. Or started this blog. Or eaten chips and salsa for dinner tonight.

Whatever. DONUTS!

Rosemary olive oil donuts – adapted from Shape (makes 6 normal sized or 12 mini-donuts)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

6 T sugar

1/4 t salt

1 1/8 t baking powder

2 T fresh rosemary, finely minced

1 egg

6 T milk

1/8 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 t lemon zest

juice of 1/4 lemon

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and rosemary in a mixing bowl. In a separate bowl whisk together egg, milk, oils, lemon juice and zest. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir to combine. Batter will be thick. Don’t worry about it.

Fill donut molds about 3/4 full – don’t fill them up to the top or you’ll get some funky shaped donuts. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. No lie, they weird me out a bit…but I’ll try anything once.

    Reply
    • I wish they were a little more photogenic – but they do taste good! Think of them more like a bread you’d eat with soup or something..not so much a donut. I just really like yelling DONUTS! 🙂

      Reply
  2. I don’t like traditional donuts, but I’m willing to try all that other stuff in donut form. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

