Peppermint Bark

Don’t you hate it when you think you have an amazing idea, and then it turns out to be dumb. And ugly.

I really hate that.

One would think chocolate would always be a good idea. Until it’s not. Kind of.

I hope you love peppermint bark as much as I do. If you don’t, you might as well leave now before you hear me whine about a heart shaped ice cube tray.

That’s literally the best looking one I got. Out of 12.

I made this peppermint bark a while back, but I didn’t deem it blog worthy. The idea was totally blog worthy, but the final product was a little muddy and just not as cute as I had intended. I mean, they aren’t awful, but I wouldn’t go around throwing these to all the people I love. I was really excited about it because they were going to be all heart-shaped and perfect for Valentine’s Day and we could all give them out as gifts and live happily ever after! But then they turned out all notcute and I was a little crushed. Drama. But then after some thought (and about 1840209345 pieces of peppermint bark) I realized it was worthy. Anything good enough to eat should be on here – even if it’s not beautiful, right?

Eh, kind of. I have these cupcakes I’m working on and I refuse to let them see the light of day until they are the most adorable little cakes you’ve ever seen. But, listen, I promise there is a method to my madness.

Back to the bark now.

Target is single handedly trying to ruin me with their dollar bins. Like, it’s just rude. They know I can’t resist anything heart shaped and they just keep shoving it in my face every single time I walk in that store. Ugh.

Measuring cups, measuring spoons, ice cube trays, bowls, bigger bowls, DONUT PANS. All heart shaped.

And that’s just in the kitchen! I have so many random heart things sitting around my apartment, it’s completely ridiculous. Ugh, again.

Hearts are just too precious. We should all just give up and accept that. We ( I)  should also accept that ice cube trays should be used for ice – not chocolate candies.

Anyway, this post is less recipe and more hereissomethingtodowithchocolatewhenyoudontwanttomakecookies. And for those of you who prefer your bark flat….you can totally join in the fun too.

Peppermint Bark – serves me for about a week

8 oz dark chocolate

8 oz white chocolate

1/2 cup crushed peppermint candies

1/4 t peppermint extract (optional)

Method one:

Melt dark chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl in 30 second intervals until it’s all melty and smooth (or use a double boiler – but, really, who does that?)*

Spread the melted chocolate in a thin layer on some wax paper. I normally do it on a small cookie sheet or a big dinner plate. Whatever will fit in your freezer. Then sprinkle the crushed peppermint all over the chocolate and stick in the freezer for about 20-25 minutes.

Melt the white chocolate the same way as above. Add the peppermint extract (if using) and gently stir. Pour the white chocolate over the dark and begin spreading it around. Make sure to work quickly because the cold dark chocolate will start to harden the white AND the warm white will start to melt the dark. It’s rude, really. By no means does this have to look perfect. And just so you know, getting this to work in any sort of ice cube tray is hard. Really, really hard.

Freeze again until everything is set. Break apart into pieces OR take out of $1 heart shaped ice cube tray and try to not have a meltdown because they don’t look perfect – it’s still delicious. Bark will stay in the fridge for as long as you can stand before you eat it all.

Method two:

Do everything exactly the same except instead of sprinkling the peppermint candies on the dark chocolate, stir them into the white chocolate. Most peppermint barks you’ll find in the stores are made this way.**

 

 

* I totally respect people who use double boilers.

** I used method two on the heart shaped ones but they didn’t look like the ones you’ll find at the store. Obviously. You’ve been warned.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. ksiulinski@gmail.com

     /  February 1, 2012

    I use a double boiler…mainly because me and the microwave don’t get along when it comes to melting stuff…sad I know

    Reply

Leave a Reply

