Funfetti Donuts

I wasn’t kidding when I said I was obsessed with hearts.

But let it be known that I’m not obsessed with Valentine’s Day. I mean, I like it just fine but it’s not a big deal. The best part about it really is that all this cute heart stuff goes on sale and I have an excuse to bake more than I normally do. Like how other people use holidays as an excuse to drink? I use them to bake. And drink.

These were suppose to be legit funfetti donuts, but when I mixed the sprinkles into the batter it turned pink. This is obviously because I only had pink and red sprinkles. I’m about 95 percent sure if you use regular multi-colored sprinkles this won’t happen. Either way,  it’s okay. Because you made homemade donuts and that’s cool. Super cool.

Even cooler if you share them. Give them away. Show somebody you care. Why don’t we have a holiday for that? Giving our friends things because we love them.

Oh wait, that’s what birthdays are for. Which is exactly why I made these donuts. Hi Megan!

But you know what? Why wait for a birthday? I challenge you to make something and give it someone you love. Anyone you love. Just because you love them. It doesn’t have to be perfect. I mean, look at these hearts – so not perfect!

And really, what love is perfect?

Okay, now I’m just being creepy. Sorry.

Funfetti donuts – adapted from the recipe that came with the donut pan (makes 12 – 16 donuts)

2 cups cake flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 t baking powder

1 t salt

3/4 cup milk ( I used whole, buttermilk actually works best)

2 eggs

2 T melted butter

1 t vanilla

1/4 – 1/3 cup sprinkles (depending on how fun you want these!)

Preheat oven to 375. Spray donut pan with baking spray.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir in milk, eggs, butter and vanilla. Gently, gently, GENTLY fold in sprinkles. If they turn the batter pink just roll with it. No biggie.

Fill each donut well about 2/3 of the way full. If you fill it up too much you get the puffy ones above. Again, no biggie.

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove and let cool in pan for a few minutes before turning out onto wire rack.

Glaze

2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 t vanilla

Mix all ingredients in a small saucepan on low heat. Dip each donut into glaze and swirl around a bit. Let set on a wire rack with foil under it to catch the drippings. Let sit for at least 30 minutes so glaze can harden up.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Annalee

     /  February 8, 2012

    Does this count as Megan’s blog post? Because, I expect mine soon … Like, by week’s end.

    Reply
    • Nah, this doesn’t count as hers. I made the mistake of trying to develop recipes for both of you so it’s going to take a while. Be patient, my dear friend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

