Blue Moon Cupcakes

I’m 24. Almost 25, but really 24.

I feel like I’m at this point in my life where I can’t really figure out how I’m suppose to act yet. I’m still straddling that line between kid and adult.

For example:

I’m either asleep by 9 p.m. or up until 2 a.m.

I ran my first 5K a few weekends ago, but the only reason I signed up was because I would be covered in multi-colored powder at the end of it.

Wearing dark lipstick makes me feel like my mother (which isn’t a bad thing because she’s fabulous) but lip gloss makes me feel like I’m in my high school bathroom talking about the cute boys in my social studies class. Bonus points if it smells like strawberries.

I like classic makeup. And glitter nail polish.

I drink coffee all morning and eat candy all afternoon.

I told my dad I could do my taxes on my own and then called him 3475092490 times in the process.

I have a food blog and spend my weekends trying to develop new recipes, and then call my mom and ask her how to boil eggs. Seriously.

I can’t stand the words totes, presh and obvs, yet I say legit about 20 times a day.

I take vitamins. Of the gummy variety.

I constantly need a beer. And a cupcake.

Good thing I can put beer IN cupcakes.

Blue Moon Cupcakes ( from Miss Make) makes 12 cupcakes – amazing cupcakes

6 T butter, softened

1/2 cup + 6 T sugar

1 1/4 cups flour

1 1/4 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

2 eggs

1/2 t vanilla

1/4 t orange zest

1/2 c blue moon*

1/8 cup milk

red + yellow food coloring (optional)

Preheat oven to 375. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

Beat butter until creamy. Add in sugar and beat until fully incorporated. Add eggs in one at a time, beating after each one. Mix in vanilla and food coloring, if using. I found that about 2 drops of red + 10 drops of yellow made the orange color I was looking for.

Mix together the milk and beer.

Alternate between adding the dry ingredients and the milk/beer mixture – beginning and ending with dry.

Fill your cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for 18 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting. I just mixed a little bit of fresh orange juice into store bough buttercream frosting. I have nothing against making my own frosting BUT I don’t own an electric mixer of any kind…and I’m pretty sure my whisk (and arm) would die if I tried to do it by hand.

*This recipe does not use an entire bottle of beer. This means you might have to drink the rest at 10 a.m. on a Saturday morning. It’s okay, do it in the name of cupcakes.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. OMG these sound awesome! Totally making them. Also, I feel the exact same way about the kid/adult thing. I was just wondering the other day when I’m every going to feel like a grown woman instead of a young lady. It hasn’t happened yet. =\

    Reply

Leave a Reply

