Homemade Salsa

Does anybody have a margarita?

I need one to go with the million gallons of salsa I made. Whoops.

I mean, who knew three cans of tomatoes would make so.much.salsa. I’m going to go ahead and give you the full recipe in case, you know, you have an army coming over this weekend. But if you’re making this for a normal amount of people (or, um, yourself) I highly recommend halving this recipe. Possibly fourthing. Frankly, I’m just not sure enough chips exist in the world to take care of this salsa.

Am I being dramatic? Kind of. But not really. The salsa that’s been sitting in my fridge desperately waiting to be eaten doesn’t think I’m being dramatic. Either does my stomach, which has now had chips and salsa for dinner the last four days.

I’m really not that picky about my salsa – so I’m not going to sit here and tell you it’s the best salsa in the world. Because, really? I’ll pretty much eat anything on a chip. No lie. I can be kind of a pill about guacamole and hummus, but I find myself enjoying all types of salsa. Chunky, smooth, whatever. As long as it’s sassy and spicy I’m going to like it. What? Salsa can totally be sassy!

This is the type of salsa you would get a restaurant. Not too chunky, no crazy flavors. Just the perfect salsa to enjoy with friends on a Friday night during those happy hours that manage to last until 2 a.m. Happy, happy, happy.

So seriously, who has a margarita?

Homemade salsa (from The Pioneer Woman)

1 28oz can whole tomatoes

2 10oz cans diced tomatoes w/ green chilis

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 garlic gloves, minced

1-2 jalapenos, sliced (depending on how spicy you like your salsa)

1/4 t sugar

1/4 t salt

1/2 t ground cumin

1/2 cup cilantro

Juice from 1/2 a lime

Dump everything into a blender or food processor and blend, blend, blend! I had to do two batches because, again, this makes A TON of salsa. Allow to sit for at least an hour to allow all the flavors to mingle and get delicious. Keep tightly covered in fridge.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You can always freeze it, too, so you can just have it on hand for parties or random cravings. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

