Southwestern Quinoa

I bet you think I just sit around and eat cupcakes, salsa and cookies, huh?

Well you’re wrong. Close, but still wrong. I eat healthy things too sometimes! I’m one of those people who loves food so much it doesn’t matter the calorie count! 50? 500? Whatever. Just get it in my face.

I actually eat quinoa about twice a week because it’s easy to make, I can add whatever I want to it and – most importantly – it makes me feel trendy and hipster-ish. Luckily, I can buy it at my regular grocery store so I don’t have to go to some health food store for it. I don’t really fit in at stores like that. I’m pretty sure a huge sign follows me around saying ” She doesn’t belong here! She ate popcorn and cookies for dinner last night!”

I actually become anxious when I walk into a Whole Foods for this very reason. Yikes.

If you’ve never had quinoa before I really think you’re missing out. It might not look like much, but it’s suuuuuper good for you and will taste like whatever you put into it. I had to get over the texture the first few times I had it, but after that we became friends. Best friends, really. Although I do have one teeny tiny problem with it though. It’s totally not a big deal, but it does kind of irk me.

Quinoa is the most unphotogenic food ever. EVER. I tried, you guys, I really tried. Unfortunately it kind of looks like fancy dog food. But I promise you it does not taste like fancy dog food (because I know what that tastes like?) so I need you guys to trust me on this one. I’ll come back with pretty things later.

Southwestern Quinoa (serves 4)

1 cup dry quinoa

2 cups chicken stock (or vegetable stock, water, etc)

1 t olive oil

1/2 red onion, chopped finely

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped finely

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 t dried oregano

1 t ground cumin

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup corn (fresh or frozen – thaw if frozen)

salt & pepper to taste

cilantro (optional)

Add quinoa and stock to a medium sized pot. Bring to boil, cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed. Set aside.

In another (big!) pan, heat the olive oil on medium heat. Add the onions and red pepper and saute until soft, about four minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another 30 seconds. Add oregano and cumin and stir for a minute. If the mixture looks a little dry you can add a little bit more oil. Add in beans and corn and let cook for five minutes, stirring occasionally. Finally, add in quinoa and combine everything together. Season with salt and pepper. Top with chopped cilantro if desired.

Serve! Can be eaten hot or at room temperature.

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. southwestern quinoa « miki's kitchen

Leave a Reply

