Quinoa Cakes

Hey you! Yea, you.

Listen, I get it. Mondays are rough. The weekend was fun, full of naps and not doing the errands you told yourself you’ll do. Who has time to sweep when you’re busy watching every episode of New Girl online? Not me. And maybe you drank too much champagne while watching the Oscars last night. No shame, it was a night of celebration. Meryl Streep won! We have to drink champagne for her and her genuine amazing-ness. C’mon, we had to do it for Meryl. And Christopher Plummer. And that cute dog from The Artist.

But now it’s today. Not yesterday. Today. And you made it through the work day like a champ. You’re still alive and totally going to kick this week in the butt…right after dinner. Dinner that I’ve already figured out for you. Well, maybe. If not, I hear drive-thrus are super convenient.

This is what I did with the quinoa from last week. Because sometimes I forgot that I’m just one person. Sometimes I forget I live alone and cook just for myself. And sometimes I forget that even if there is delicious, healthy quinoa in the fridge, I will still eat a handful of raisins and a cupcake for dinner. Oh, and sometimes (kind of all the times) I don’t like eating the same thing night after night after night. That’s where these little cakes / patties came in. It’s like the same thing, but totally different.

I just blew your mind a little, didn’t I?

Quinoa Cakes (makes six patties)

1 cup quinoa*

1 egg

1/2 cup breadcrumbs + more for dredging

2 oz grated cheese (I used colby jack, but you can use whatever you have)

1 T olive oil

Mix quinoa, egg, breadcrumbs and cheese in a mixing bowl. If your quinoa is plain go ahead and add whatever seasonings you’d like ( I would suggest seasoning before you add the egg so you can taste it as you go). If the mixture seems dry add a little bit of water to moisten it up. It doesn’t need to be super wet, but it does need to hold together.

Using a 1/4 measuring cup, scoop out some of the mixture and form into a patty using your hands. Dredge in more breadcrumbs.

Heat the oil in a large pan on medium heat. Carefully place the patties in the pan, making sure to give yourself enough room to flip them. Cook for about three minutes per side, until the outsides are browned and little crunchy.

Serve right away or at room temperature.

*I feel like this recipe works the best with quinoa that has already been seasoned. If you want to make it fresh though, just make sure it has cooled completely before making the patties

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

