Spicy Cajun Pasta

Hi hi hi!

I realized something weird about myself the other day. I tend to crave pasta shapes. Like, sometimes I really want penne pasta. Or other times it has to be bowtie. And macaroni & cheese? Elbow pasta or bust! I actually try not to keep too much pasta in my kitchen because if there are carbs around me I will eat them until the world is deprived of their carbalicious goodness. I think carbalicious is a word?

Anyway. So, I try to not keep pasta around and instead stock up on fresh vegetables and oatmeal and stuff. But all that really does is make me go to the store every other day to buy whatever I actually want to eat.  I also have to clean my fridge of dead vegetables kind of frequently. Gross.

On Monday I wanted penne pasta. So I went and bought some. Stood in line for about 1o minutes for one box of pasta. I had linguine in my pantry, but I JUST HAD TO HAVE PENNE.

Yikes, sorry for yelling. Pasta makes me crazy.

This spicy cajun pasta makes me really crazy. In the best way possible. It was so, so, so good. I had to stop myself from eating the entire pan so I could take a picture of it the next day that would be in natural light, rather than my “hurts the eyes” kitchen lights. I did that for you guys – because you deserve nice photos. Not holycrapthisissogoodforgetthecamera photos. Don’t worry, though. I came home for lunch the next day, snapped a few (thousand) photos and then stuffed that bowl of spicy goodness in my face. It was glorious.

Warning! This pasta is pretty darn spicy. It was perfect for me, but if you don’t like spice that much I would cut down on the cajun seasoning a bit. Start with a little, and taste as you go. Yay cooking!

Spicy Cajun Pasta ( from Eat Live Run) – serves 2

4 oz penne pasta (or any other shape if you’re not weird like me)

1/2 pound andouille sausage*

1/4 red onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1-2 t cajun seasoning (I used Tony Chachere’s)

1/4 cup stock

2-3 T heavy cream

1 t olive oil

Cook pasta according to directions. Drain and set aside.

Heat oil in a large pan. Once oil is hot, add  sausage and onions and saute until soft – about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and saute for another minute. Mix in the cajun seasoning and allow to cook for 30 more seconds. Then add in the tomatoes and stock ( I used vegetable stock). Bring to a simmer and let cook for a few minutes. Add in the cream – I found that it didn’t take a lot to make this dish taste creamy, so start light and add if you think you need it. Lastly, add in the pasta and stir everything together!

* I used pre-cooked sausage so that’s what I added it with the onions. If you need to cook your meat do that first, and then add in the onions, garlic, etc. If you want you can season the meat itself with some cajun seasoning, or whatever else floats your boat!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That looks really good. I made meatballs the other day and the only thing that felt right with them was rotini, so I totally understand your pasta specificness. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

