Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

Oops, I did it again. I put more beer in more cupcakes. Sorry I’m not sorry.

Fun fact: I hate Guinness. And I super hate Irish Car Bombs. Friends try to tell me it tastes like chocolate milk. LIES.

You know what’s not a lie? The fact that these cupcakes are the bomb.

HA. See what I did there?

Ever since I made those Blue Moon Cupcakes a few weeks ago, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about other booze and baked good combinations. It’s kind of taken over my life…in the best way possible. When I thought up these beauties I was so damn proud of myself. Until I moseyed on over to Google and realized roughly 23834524 people had thought them up before me. I decided to not follow any of those recipes though – out of spite. Instead these are simply based on the Blue Moon ones. Even though it was my first batch, these just worked. The cupcakes themselves are moist but fluffy, and the frosting has Baileys in it, so um, it’s basically what I assume Heaven is made of.

I usually don’t post a recipe unless I’ve tested it out at least twice, but I made an exception for these. People at work seemed to really like them AND I didn’t think making another batch would be good for anybody. Mainly my jeans. I do, however, have a tupperware container full of Baileys frosting and five bottles of Guinness I need to get rid of. Any takers?

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes (makes 12)

6 T butter, softened

1/2 cup + 2 T sugar

1 cup flour

1/4 cup coco powder

1 1/4 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

2 eggs

2 oz chocolate, melted and cooled slightly

1/2 t vanilla

1/2 cup Guinness beer

1/4 cup strong coffee, cooled

Preheat oven to 375.

Mix flour, coco powder, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Set aside. Mix beer and coffee and set aside as well.

Beat butter until it’s creamy. Add sugar and continue beating until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Mix in melted chocolate and vanilla extract. Alternate adding in beer/coffee and dry ingredients and gently mix together.

Fill each cupcake liner about 2/3 full. Bake for 18 minutes. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting:

In the spirit of staying true to myself, I did not measure the Baileys. Instead I dumped some store bought buttercream frosting in a bowl and poured in as much Baileys as I wanted. Obviously I did a few taste tests. I can tell you this, however: While you can’t taste the beer in the cupcakes you absolutely will taste the booze in the frosting. This is both good and bad. Mostly good, though.

Enjoy!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

