Pan Fried Chickpeas

Why, hello there! How is everybody on this fine day?

I made a decision about 10 seconds ago to not hate Mondays anymore. I feel like I have no reason to hate them, you know? I have a great job, I adore the people I work with, I wake up early every single day anyway, a new week means five more days of possible happy hours, new episodes (hopefully!) of New Girl, Revenge and Parks and Rec, new to-do lists….shall I go on??

Obviously, weekends are so great and that’s the sole reason why Mondays feel like a constant state of suck. But it doesn’t have to be that way. Just enjoy it! Every time today starts to suck, just slap it away and make it awesome. Watch a funny video, drink more coffee, remember that funny thing that happened on Saturday night, put on more lipstick…shall I go on??

Anyway, just start the week happy. It might change things for you. And if they don’t, please blame the two bowls of cereal and ice cream I just ate for dinner. Sugar makes me crazy and in love with life.

These chickpeas are crazy too. And faaaaaar healthier than cinnamon toast crunch and ice cream. I always have about five cans of chickpeas in my pantry, so these are kind of a staple for me. I make them a lot during the week if I’m too lazy to make an actual meal, or on the weekends when I want something warm to eat while watching You’ve Got Mail for the millionth time.

The best part? There’s no real recipe. Season with whatever makes you happy! Although I do suggest staying away from sugar this time. Let’s not all go crazy, okay?

Pan Fried Chickpeas (serves me!)

1 can chickpeas

2 t olive oil

1 t cornstarch

1/2 t ground cumin

1/2 garlic powder

1/4 t red pepper flakes

1/4 t chili powder

1/4 t onion powder

salt (if you use a seasoning blend, you probably won’t need extra salt)

Rinse and drain the chickpeas really, really well. Lay the chickpeas out on a clean towel and gently pat dry.

Heat the oil in a large pan (large enough for all the chickpeas to lay without overlapping). When oil is hot dump in the chickpeas. Watch out because they will probably sizzle – so keep your beautiful face away! Saute for a few minutes.

Add the cornstarch + seasonings to the chickpeas and stir to coat everything. Keep cooking for 5-7 minutes, stirring every once in a while. The chickpeas will still stay soft, but the outside will start to get a little crispy. You can cook for as long as you want, but don’t let them burn. That’d be no bueno.

Eat warm!

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. lol. love love love how many times you used happy and crazy. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

