Italian Chicken Soup

I don’t have many words today. Shocking, I know.


I also meant to post this last night (Wednesday – if you’re not reading this on Thursday), but then I went to see Quidam (Cirque de Soleil) and got lost in all the dancing, bending, yelling and overall amazing-ness. Also, it’s hard to write about food after three hours of that. I can’t decide if I want to spend the rest of my life eating carrot sticks while doing Pilates or eating cookies while reading The Hunger Games. Or crying. I should probably make a decision soon.

Anyway, soup!

I live in Texas. It’s currently a million degrees outside. This is preparing us for the billion degrees it will be in July. Thanks for the heads up Texas!

Good thing I’ll eat soup no matter the weather. If I only ate it when it was cold outside, I would only get to eat soup roughly 2.5 days out of the year. And frankly, that just won’t fly.

This one is tasty. And it’s totally filling thanks to the chicken, pasta and other soupy things in it. Total comfort in a bowl. And since I made it when I was dealing with a a crazy red-eye (but not pink eye!) situation, it was super comforting and basically perfect.

Italian Chicken Soup (adapted from The Pioneer Woman) serves 4

8 oz box pasta (I used the tiny little tube pasta – use whatever you have!)

2 cups shredded chicken (I used a store bought rotisserie chicken)

4 cups chicken broth

1/2 medium onion, Diced

1  green bell pepper, diced

1 celery stalk, diced

2  jalapenos, seeded and diced

1.5 t  olive oil

1 can (14-ounce) diced tomatoes

2 T olive oil

1 T dried oregano

1 t dried basil

Salt and pepper, to taste

Heavy cream, to drizzle on top

Cook the pasta according to directions. When al dente, drain and set aside.

In a small pan, heat the 2 T of olive oil. Add in the dried oregano and basil and turn off heat. Stir for minute and then set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a medium size pot on medium-high heat. Once ready, add your onions, celery, green pepper and jalapenos. Saute for about 10 minutes, until they are soft and start to turn golden brown. Add in your shredded chicken, chicken broth and tomatoes. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for 10 minutes. Lastly stir in the oregano/basil mixture.

To serve put some pasta in each bowl and ladle the soup on top. Then drizzle as much heavy cream as you’d like into each serving.

Note: The original recipe calls for you to add all the pasta and about heavy cream to the entire pot of soup. I have two issues with this. 1. In my experience, whenever I put leftover soup with pasta in the fridge, the pasta absorbs a lot of the liquid and it gets all weird and soggy. No thank you. 2. Sometimes the heavy cream can separate from the rest of the soup as it sits. I just think it’s easier to drizzle a little on top of each bowl than deal with that. But that’s just me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Awesome! I eat soup every day for lunch at work and am totally going to try this. Keep the soup recipes coming. If you could teach me how to make potato soup I’d be eternally grateful. For some reason, it baffles me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

