Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

You’ll want to listen to this song after reading. Trust me.

Banana pancakes. Not just a sweet song, but a damn delicious breakfast. And that’s coming from someone who doesn’t really like pancakes or…breakfast food in general.

Weird? I totally know. I don’t hate all breakfast foods. It’s just not my thing really. I’m more likely to wake up and eat leftover pasta than make myself eggs. During the week,  at work, I eat cereal, yogurt or oatmeal. Yawn. But if I had to choose my perfect breakfast it would include waffles. And bagels. And potatoes. And carbs on top of carbs smothered in carbs. And bacon.So you’d think I’d love pancakes, right? It’s a carb and CAKE FOR BREAKFAST. But, nope. Never been a fan.

So imagine my surprise when I found myself DREAMING about pancakes last week. So weird. In proper me fashion, I went home and made some for dinner on that Wednesday night. I just couldn’t wait. I also couldn’t believe how good they were considering I just threw stuff in a bowl and on a pan. They were so fluffy and incredible. Oh! And they’re made with whole wheat flour, which obviously means they’re healthy. Who am I?

So fluffy!

I finally decided to be normal for once in my life this weekend and made pancakes for breakfast. With bananas and chocolate chips (duh) and a side of two mimosas. Yay normalacy! The recipe below makes three perfect little pancakes.

Why are there only photos of two perfect little pancakes? I ate the first one while the other two cooked. I’m really full.

Banana chocolate chip pancakes (serves me!)

6 T buttermilk

1 egg

1 T butter, melted

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (you can use all-purpose too!)

1 T sugar

1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1/4 – 1/2 cup chocolate chips (guess which measurement I used?)

Butter / cooking spray for the pan

Mix buttermilk, egg and butter in a small bowl.

In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the wet ingredients to dry and gently mix. You want there to still be lumps in the batter. Gently fold in chocolate chips.

Heat a frying pan over medium heat. Melt a tiny bit of butter (or use a cooking spray) in the pan. Using a 1/4 measuring cup drop the batter and gently spread around – don’t worry about making perfect circles. Totally overrated. Cook on the first side for 4-5 minutes, or until little bubbles begin forming on top. Arrange sliced bananas on the pancake and gently flip, cooking for another 2-3 minutes, until the bananas are caramelized and the cake is cooked through.

Serve with butter and syrup if that’s your thing. Or be like me and tear them apart with your fingers like a cave woman.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Anne

     /  March 22, 2012

    Love this! And love anything breakfast! Personally I think breakfast should be celebrated all day long. And I second your thing about carbs on carbs, especially when carbs are mixed with cheese!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

