Pizza Dough

You guys. My freezer is so scary.

Obviously I cook a lot. Obviously I am only one person. Obviously I can’t eat everything I make in one sitting. Obviously I can only take baked goods to the office because sweet things make people love me more. Obviously. So (um, obviously) I freeze a bunch of food.

This works out really well for me on days I’m too lazy to cook after work because I can almost always find something to stick in the microwave and heat up. This does not work out well for me when I’m moving and realize I can’t move things from one freezer to the other without roughly 73 coolers – 73 coolers I don’t actually have and refuse to buy.

The worst part? I didn’t even know what half of the frozen stuff was! So then I played the two minute microwave game where I put something in the microwave for two minutes (shocking) so it melts a tiny bit and I can tell what it is. I made that game up but feel free to play. Anyway, I found out I make a lot of soup. Lots and lots of soup. And pizza dough. Lots and lots and looooots of pizza dough.

And then I remembered that I hadn’t done a pizza dough post here yet! So here you go!! And then come back Friday to see an actual pizza!!!

EXCLAMATION POINTS.

Pizza Dough (from Eat Live Run) makes 2 large or 4 small pizzas

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 T olive oil

1 T honey

1 1/3 cup warm water

1 packet of yeast (or 2 1/4 t if you have a jar)

2 t salt

Combine the water and yeast in a measuring cup. Stir once and let sit until it gets foamy, about 5 minutes.

In a large bowl mix the flours and salt. When the yeast is ready add it to the flour, along with the honey. Stir for a few minutes until it comes together. Slowly drizzle in the oil. Once the oil is incorporated turn the dough onto a clean, lightly floured surface. Knead the dough for about 8 minutes until you have a soft, dreamy, pillowy ball of dough. If you have a stand mixer you can just let the dough hook do all this work for you – have fun with that extra 8 minutes of life!

The dough will be ready when it is only slightly tacky and you can lightly press it with your finger and it springs back. Place the dough in a clean, oiled bowl and cover it with either plastic wrap or a clean towel. Let rise for 1-2 hours, until the dough has about doubled in size.

After it’s risen, punch it down (my favorite part) and knead it a few more times. At this point you can cut it in two to make large pizzas, or in four for smaller ones. You can use the dough right away or (if you don’t need two giant pizzas) they will last in the freezer for close to forever – just don’t forget about them!

Below are a few process photos for you. Sorry about the lighting..I had to take this in the kitchen where natural light is a distant stranger.

What the dough will look like after a few kneads on the counter:

The dough when it is ready to rise:

Dough after rising:

Dough. Cut.

Dough about to be rolled out with a wine bottle because you’ll spend money on 18 bottles of pink nail polish but not a rolling pin:

Don’t worry, I drank the wine first. Who do you think I am??

Teaser photo for Friday because this post OBVIOUSLY doesn’t have enough photos:

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. that looks deliciousssss! yum

    Reply

Leave a Reply

