Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese Pizza

Remember this?

Well we’re about to turn it into this:

Happy Friday! I know a lot of people celebrate pizza Friday (which should obviously be a weekly holiday) so I figured today would be a great day for a pizza post. Also, while you’re reading this I’m probably schlepping boxes of old magazines and lip gloss to my new apartment. I hate, hate, hate moving. But I love, love , love getting away from my creepy neighbor. Either way, I’d rather be eating pizza.

Oh! Maybe I’ll have a “make your own pizza” party at my new place. I’ve always wanted to do that! Wouldn’t that be fun? I can make all the dough and then we all create our own personal pizzas – and drink lots of wine before, during and after. Of course this apartment is adorable and tiny so I can only fit about 3.5 people in there, but that just means I’ll be forced to have more parties for different people. Pizza (and wine) for everyone!!

Get ready, friends. It’s happening.

But enough party planning for now – let’s get serious people. Roasted vegetables and goat cheese. It’s a total match made in foodie heaven. I would go as far as to say that it’s better than peanut butter and jelly. I think this makes me sound cool and mature, but I realize it just makes me weird. It also makes me jealous because I can’t eat peanut butter. Hmph.

Back to this pizza. It’s so good. I make it a lot, and it’s absolutely perfect on some homemade pizza crust. And the best part is that you can use as many vegetables as you want! And by that I obviously mean you can use up as many vegetables that are dying in your fridge. The recipe below is for one small pizza – enough for two people who understand boundaries and can stop at two slices. Otherwise it’s good for one person. Um, yea.

Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese Pizza (makes one small pizza, but can easily be doubled)

1/4 batch pizza dough

10 garlic cloves (yes, 10)

1/4 red onion, sliced

1/2 green bell pepper, sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, sliced

1/2 zucchini, cut in thin rounds

1/2 yellow squash, cut in thin rounds

1 large jalapeno, thinly sliced

2 t olive oil

1 cup baby spinach leaves

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 cup shredded or sliced provolone cheese

Goat cheese (as much as you want!)

1-2 t olive oil

2 basil leaves, torn or julienned

red pepper flakes, optional

Preheat oven to 425. Wrap the garlic cloves in a small piece of foil with a tiny bit of olive oil and salt. Toss the rest of the vegetables (minus the spinach and tomatoes) in 2 t of olive oil and a sprinkling of salt and pepper. Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet – along with the pouch of garlic. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the vegetables are soft and slightly charred and the garlic is roasted. Immediately mix the hot vegetables with spinach to allow it to wilt. Set aside.

While the vegetables are roasting, roll out your dough. If your dough was in the freezer make sure it is completely thawed before you use it. I normally stick it in the fridge the morning I want to use it, and then leave it on the counter about 10-15 minutes before I’m ready to roll. I’ve found that if the dough is still slightly chilly (but still easy to roll) it bakes up a chewier crust. Just something to think about! Roll out the dough to your desired thickness – I prefer a thinner crust so that’s how I roll (ha!), but feel free to keep it thicker. If you do that though you might want to use more dough so you have enough room for your toppings.

Gently mash your roasted garlic and goat cheese together. It will smell glorious, but set aside for a second.

Put the rolled out dough on a baking sheet. Top with a layer of provolone cheese (if using sliced like I did just tear up small pieces and lay them on the crust) and then an even layer of the vegetables. Then dot the entire thing with the garlicky goat cheese. Use as much as you want – the cheesier the better! Lastly, top your pizza with the tomato halves.

Bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes, until the bottom is slightly brown, the cheese is hot and bubbly and the tomatoes are completely warmed through. Sprinkle with basil and red pepper flakes (if using) and drizzle with a tiny bit of olive oil. Allow to cool for a few minutes before slicing up and stuffing your face.

Tell me (no pressure): What’s your favorite pizza?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Pizza & Wine partiesssssssssss! Sign me up. Also, favorite pizza is a tough one. I enjoy a good veggie one, but sometimes you really need some Canadian ham in there. Yummo.

    Reply
  1. Artisan Pizza You Can Make at Home! | Yummly

Leave a Reply

