Roasted Vegetable Pasta

I haven’t cooked in over a week. Feel free to be shocked.

I moved this past weekend, and spent all my time packing, throwing things I was too lazy to pack away, dropping couches on my leg and unpacking. I spent a little time complaining about how my new apartment can’t fit all of my stuff – mainly my shoes. I refuse to believe this is my fault. I’m going to Austin this weekend and plan on making a trip to Ikea while I’m there to buy fun storage-y things. Stay tuned for all the complaining that will come when I’m trying to put the furniture together.

No less than one entire bottle of wine will be consumed in the process. By me.

So yea, as we all know, the moving process is no picnic. AND. I was told I would be getting new appliances today (Tuesday) so I decided to not use the stove, oven, etc because I figured there was really no point. Imagine my surprise when I came home from work today to find the old appliances still there?!

Strike one, new apartment management. Strike ONE.

I’m still going to hold out on those new appliances though. It’s the little things, right? Also my mom sent a bunch of food with my dad when he came to help me move so it’s not like I’m starving or anything. Geez. As for this blog, lucky for you (ha) I cooked about 34920 dishes last weekend knowing I wouldn’t be able to the past few days. What with me being too busy dropping furniture on myself and all.

The following recipe is basically the pizza from Friday…in pasta form. I know it’s kind of cheating, but I just love this pasta so I really think it deserves its own post. It was one of the first dishes I ever cooked my parents and they are completely obsessed with it. They’re really into healthy things. Weirdos.

Roasted Vegetable Pasta (serves 4)

10-15 garlic cloves

1/2 red onion, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1 red bell pepper, sliced

1 zucchini, cut in thin strips

1 yellow squash, cut in thin strips

1 bunch asparagus, cut in thirds

2 large jalapenos, thinly sliced

2 t olive oil

1-2 cups baby spinach leaves (depending on how much greenery you need in your diet)

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

8 oz pasta (any kind you want)

Goat cheese (as much as you want!)

1-2 t olive oil

1 t italian seasoning

2 basil leaves, torn or julienned

Preheat oven to 425. Wrap the garlic cloves in a small piece of foil with a tiny bit of olive oil and salt. Toss the rest of the vegetables (minus the spinach) in 2 t of olive oil and a sprinkling of salt and pepper. Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet – along with the pouch of garlic. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the vegetables are soft and slightly charred and the garlic is roasted.

While your vegetables are roasting, cook your pasta according to the package directions. When it’s done, drain and set aside.

When the vegetables are done mix with the fresh spinach to wilt them down a little. Then dump pasta in the baking sheet and stir with tongs to mix everything up. Mash the garlic in the foil a little and then add to the pasta, along with goat cheese crumbles and italian seasoning. Drizzle some olive oil over the whole pan to help everything come together. Lastly sprinkle the pan with basil leaves.

Serve and eat!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. thewaspyredhead

     /  March 28, 2012

    This looks delicious. Glad I found your blog. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

