Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Let’s talk. Real talk. Girl talk.

Maybe boy talk? I don’t know. I recently completed my collection of Sex and the City DVDs. Such a proud moment. I started buying the DVDs years ago, one by one whenever they would go on sale at Target. Kind of. Technically my collection started when I actually rented the second season from Blockbuster forever ago and “forgot” to return it. At that point I realized I might as well just buy all the seasons because I kind of live for that show.

So, anyway over the past month I’ve been re-watching the series from beginning to end at night after work. Even though I know what happens I still insist on watching in order. Except for disc two of season three. I can’t handle the whole affair – I just can’t do it.

Also, Carrie annoys me. But I love her. But I want to shake her. But I also want to be her. She confuses meeeeeee.

Want to know what I did last week? I watched the last two episodes of the series while eating red velvet cake ice cream. And then I cried because the scene when she has dinner with the girls before she leaves for Paris reduces me to a puddle of mush and I lose all control of myself. I mean, they’ve been through so much! And now she’s going to Paris with a guy who isn’t even good for her?!? WHAT.  And the whole time you just know Miranda wants to drug her and keep her in a closet until she comes to her senses, but because Carrie gets all “angry” whenever Miranda “judges” her she doesn’t say anything. And Charlotte keeps crying and Sam has cancer and she tries to make a joke about it and then I cry even more.

Wait, did you even hear anything I said? Or are you still freaking out over the ice cream. The RED VELVET CAKE ICE CREAM. Totally understandable. We can talk about Carrie and the girls later. Right now we need to focus on the boys. Two boys, specifically. Ben. And. Jerry.

This ice cream is life changing. So life changing that I tweeted about my life changing after my first bite. I mean, I liked this ice cream so much I immediately started following Ben & Jerry’s on Twitter – in between massive bouts of crying, of course.

Fun fact?  I found out that supermodel Chrissy Tiegan also professed her love for the flavor via Twitter. She also has a food blog. What I’m saying is I’m basically a supermodel. No biggie.

Where was I? I can’t even think straight – this ice cream is taking over my life. Oh, cookies! Good thing I made these cookies before all that happened. Back when Ben and Jerry were not running my world.

I had actually been trying to develop my own recipe for chewy red velvet cookies before I realized someone else was kind enough to have done it for me. And she’s amazing in the kitchen, so it’s really my fault for wasting eight pounds of butter and flour before checking her site. Doh.

In real life they’re pretty red. In my weird camera light they’re kind of brown? In every way they are DELICIOUS. Make this happen in your kitchen.

Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies ( from How Sweet Eats) makes about two dozen

1 stick butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 t vanilla

1/3 cup coco powder

1 1/2 cups flour

1 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

red food coloring

1/2 cup chocolate chips ( I use both milk and white chocolate!)

Preheat oven to 325.*

Cream together butter and sugars until light a fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and mix well.

Add in coco powder and combine. Then add in red food coloring until you get your desired color ( I found by adding the coco now I used less food coloring – weird, I know). Next, add the flour, baking soda and salt and stir. Lastly, fold in the chocolate chips.

Scoop tablespoon sized balls for 10-12 minutes. Let cool or wire rack before eating.

*The original recipe called for the cookies to be baked at 375. However when I tried this mine burnt like crazy on the bottom. I then realized that my oven is ghetto and that’s probably why, so I just baked them at 325. If you are an adult and have a normal, working oven than 375 should work for you. Either way, just keep an eye on each batch. And make sure to eat at least one cookie from said batches…for scientific reasons, you know?

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Macha

     /  April 4, 2012

    Mansee, I too loooooooove this Ice cream!!! I buy it at the deli across from work when I’ve had a bad day and then eat it while drinking whiskey. I will have to try out these cookies.

    Reply
    • Well, now I clearly need to make these cookies, and then eat them with some whiskey…

      Reply
  2. Hammer

     /  April 4, 2012

    Your blog is too entertaining! I must eat cookies now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

