Blueberry Mango Banana Bread

Life is good, right?

Well my life is good, at least. I survived another week. I got to dress up and celebrate love last night. The night before I dressed down and celebrated beer (and a man wearing lace shorts). My apartment is clean. I have a lot of chocolate in my pantry. I get to see my puppy next weekend. This website exists. My new neighbors aren’t creepy. Tennis “season” starts soon. Adam Levine and girlfriend broke up. I mean, really, life is looking up.

And! It’s Spriiiiiiiiing.

Growing up in Ohio, Spring was kind of a big deal. After months of being buried under 17 layers of clothing while waiting for the bus at 6:30 in the morning and then trying to squeeze into a seat with another penguin-esque child, seeing the sun was huge. Bigger than huge. And in Ohio, Spring was an actual season – not a 12 day stint like it is in Texas. We had the whole April showers, May flowers deal. Can you even imagine??

Food wise, Spring was especially exciting for me because it meant all my favorite fruits were going to become available soon. And although my favorites are actually summer fruits (watermelon, mango, pineapple, etc) I would always make my parents snatch them up at the store before they were ready. Patience is not one of my shining qualities. I would then have to watch them sit in our kitchen until they were actually ready. Obviously, logic is not one of my shining qualities either.

Mangoes are a family favorite.  My dad would always buy a huge box at the local Indian grocery store and check each one every day until they were ripe enough to eat. Some of my favorite childhood memories are of my dad cutting mangoes. Odd, right? But whenever the weather gets warmer I always think of him standing over the kitchen counter cutting my favorite fruit into a bowl, and then turning around and scraping the rest of the meat off the pit and skins standing over the sink. Sometimes I would wander over and start picking pieces out to eat and then he would yell at me and tell me to at least use a fork.

P.S. I never used a fork. Ha.

On a recent visit home I went with my parents to the Indian grocery store where my dad and spotted a huge box of mangoes. Score! Seeing as how it was March, they were not ready to eat. Foiled! He sent a few home with me and I waited – super impatiently – to be able to cut them. That’s when I realized how awful I am with a knife. JUICE EVERYWHERE. And seeing as how I’m terrified of bugs infesting my apartment (and consequently eating my face off while I sleep), I spent more time scrubbing my entire kitchen than enjoying the delicious fruit.

Luckily I made time to make this bread. But next time? Dad’s cutting the fruit before I take it home. I will forever be the little girl who refuses to use a fork.

Blueberry Mango Banana Bread ( adapted from A Cozy Kitchen)

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 cup rolled oats

2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1/3 cup buttermilk

1 T vegetable oil

1 T vanilla

2 eggs

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

2 very ripe bananas, smashed

1/2 cup blueberries (if using frozen make sure to thaw)

1/2 cup mango

Preheat oven to 325.

Mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In another bowl, beat eggs with both sugars for 3-5 minutes, until fluffy.

Whisk together buttermilk, oil and vanilla and add it to the egg/sugar mixture, along with your smashed bananas. Add in the dry ingredients in two batches and combine. Gently fold in blueberries and mangoes.

Pour batter into a loaf pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Top with a handful of oats and bake for one hour, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Bread will keep for up to a week in the fridge. Because of the fruit it can get a teeeeeny bit soggy, so I like to eat it cold. But that’s just me.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

