Blue Cheese Potatoes

Happy Monday morning my beautiful friends! I made you potatoes.

Swooooooon. So here’s how this happened.

A few weeks ago I went to one of my favorite restaurants for the happiest of hours with some friends/coworkers/formercoworkerswhoarestillfriends. While we gabbed about, um..work, we drank wine and ate delicious wings, chips and fried pickles.(P.S. I hate pickles, but will eat just about anything that’s fried. I’m not proud.) But! Those chips were incredible. Just imagine a big ol’ plate of warm kettle chips COVERED in crispy bacon, fresh green onions and melty, melty blue cheese. Again, swoooooon.I mean, really, can we just agree that melty cheese puts the happy in happy hour? And wine…wine does that too.

Fast forward to the following Friday. I invited a few girlfriends over for a glass of wine before we headed downtown to look at art drink beer. Because I am my mother’s child, I just had to provide snacks. I figured it was the perfect time to try out these chips at home. Chips, bacon, green onions and cheese. In the oven. In my mouth. Good good good.

But not perfect. Eh.

However, on roasted red potatoes? Holy moly MAGICAL.

That photo is blurry because I was too excited to eat these and couldn’t concentrate on being a good photographer. Also I was standing on a chair and almost fell off.

This was one of those dishes that makes me excited for life. Bacon + cheese + potatoes just makes the world a better place, you know? After I took these photos I picked up that plate, sat on the couch and ate every last bite while staring at the space that would be a TV…if I owned a TV. I assume I at least had music playing, but I can’t guarantee that. It is entirely possible that I ate these by myself in total silence. SO GOOD. I assume this would be the perfect side dish next to some roasted chicken, if you do things like roast chickens. For me, it was perfect alongside some frozen yogurt, wine and more single girl stereotypes.

Make them tonight – it’ll make the next four days fly by. I promise.*

Blue Cheese Potatoes (serves four as a side dish)

1 lb red potatoes

2 t olive oil

4 garlic cloves, minced

3 slices bacon

4 green onions, thinly sliced

1 t dried parsley

1/4-1/2 c blue cheese, crumbled

Preheat oven to 400.

In a small saucepan, mix the garlic and olive oil on low heat until the oil is infused with the garlic.

Cut the potatoes into bite sized pieces and toss with the garlic oil (if you’re not a garlic freak like me you can keep the garlic cloves whole in the oil and take them out before you toss with the potatoes. You’ll still get the garlic flavor, but it won’t punch you in the face). Spread the potato in a single layer on a baking sheet. Stick the pan in the oven for 15 minutes.

While potatoes are roasting, chop up you bacon and start cooking on the stove. Once some of the fat is rendered and the bacon is a little soft, take the bacon out of the pan and drain the fat. After the 15 minutes are up, flip the potatoes, sprinkle the bacon on top and stick back in the oven for another 15 minutes. The bacon will finish cooking and crisp up in the oven.

After those 15 minutes are up, take the pan out and flip again. By now they should be slightly brown and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. If they’re not, let them roast for a little more until they look perfect to you. Then sprinkle with the green onions, dried parsely and as much  blue cheese as you want. Turn off the oven and put the pan back in to sit for about 10 minutes. You want the onions to soften and the cheese to get all melty and magical.

Serve warm.

*Sorry, I can’t actually promise that.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I’m dense. The lower-case t is a teaspoon, correct? I don’t want to short anything. If it needs to be a tablespoon, I’ll go there.

    Reply
    • Nope, you’re right. Lowercase t is a teaspoon, uppercase is tablespoon. I should probably stop being lazy and just type them all out, but that could be asking too much of me.

      Reply
  2. Hammer

     /  April 16, 2012

    You hate Pickles?!?! She likes you.

    Reply
  3. Pickles

     /  April 16, 2012

    Whatever. Damage done.

    Reply
  4. teapruski

     /  April 25, 2012

    Oh dear me can I just kidnap you and bring you to Seattle with Kevin and me? You can bring friends, and we’ll all live together in a big house. It’ll either be like Real World or a naked hippie commune. My money is on the naked hippies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

