Strawberry Basil Sangria

It’s a new week. Here’s a drink.

Doesn’t sangria just SCREAM summer?! It makes me feel like there’s nothing more to life than shorts, sunglasses and rooftop parties where some (cute!) guy pulls out his guitar and everybody starts singing. Those parties when you’re suddenly social and talking to strangers, vowing to yourself that you’ll be like this all the time because life is too short and why shouldn’t you talk to that adorable barista at Starbucks? It’s basically a pitcher of happiness!

For the record I’ve never experienced a night like that. I think I saw it in a Jennifer Aniston movie.

Even where I live (on the sun) people are just happier in the summer (even though it’s a billion degrees outside and we could all drop dead at any given moment from heat exhaustion). It could be the sun. It could be the extra Vitamin D. Heck, it could just be the sangria. Summer = happy. And that’s why I made Sangria on Friday at 2 p.m. Because it made me happy, not because I have a problem. And in my defense, I didn’t actually drink any until five hours later..so you can stop the judging now.

Okay wait, that’s a little bit of a lie. I might have a sip  two at like 5 p.m. BUT it’s because I was taking these photos and so I had poured the glasses and I just figured I’d have a little taste before I went to my Zumba class. See, the plan was to go Zumba (or as I like to call it – Zuuuuuuumba) and then come back and have a drink while I put together a bookshelf I bought from Ikea a couple of weeks ago. And frankly? My plan went wonderfully, except replace “a drink” with “two and half drinks”, “bookshelf” with “8o million pieces of wood” and “Ikea” with “evil warehouse that makes me feel bad about myself”.

Oh, and another thing! Does anybody else turn into a complete idiot during group exercise classes? Like, say, for instance when the instructor decides that instead of facing the mirror, the whole class should jump to their right and then you (I) jump to the left? Seriously, without fail, every single time, I will jump to the wrong side and end up face to face with another sweaty Zumba-er. And I can’t even blame this on the sangria –  I just completely forget left from right because I tend to be thinking about other things. A few that come to the top of mind? Trying not to fall (clumsy), making sure I don’t look like a complete fool (vain), not dying (out of shape), willing my hair to stay in place (really vain), and watching the girl in the front row who has obviously been zumba-ing all her life and trying to figure out why she’s smiling and how exactly are her hips AND shoulders moving at the same time because parts of my body seem to shut off when others are moving and SERIOUSLY WHY WON’T MY HAIR BEHAVE (jealous and really, really vain).

P.S. If you ever want to feel awesome about yourself just come stand next to me in Zuuuuuumba. It’s like Self-Esteem Boost 101.

P.P.S. That bookshelf still isn’t completely built.

Excuse me, I need a drink.

Strawberry Basil Sangria

10 strawberries

1 t honey*

1 cup vodka

2 limes, sliced

5 large basil leaves, either thinly sliced or torn

1 bottle of white wine

Ginger ale or Sprite (your preference, but I thought the ginger ale was tastier)

Slice the strawberries and drizzle with a little bit of honey. Pour the vodka over the berries and let sit for at least 30 minutes.

Pour the berries and vodka into a large pitcher, along with the sliced limes. Pour the wine over everything and gently stir in basil. Let sit in fridge for at least two hours, overnight if possible – the longer it sits, the more delicious it is. When you’re ready to serve, splash a little ginger ale or sprite into each glass.

Note: Notice how I didn’t include serving size? Well, that’s because it’s basically enough for four people at a class party, or one person after a horrible day. Depends on who you are, what you’re doing and how ridiculous your life is.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. You seemed to be having several moments while riding this. Loved it.

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories