S’mores Donuts

I have this thing about making one thing taste like another thing.

I know, I know. I also have a beautiful way with words.

But seriously, I have become OBSESSED with making s’mores flavored goodies and (not so obsessed about this) completely failing at them. S’more cookies fail? Check. S’more cupcake fail? Check. S’mores blondies fail? CHECK. S’mores donuts fail? Check.

Donuts never let me down.

I made these late Friday night for no other reason than I’m crazy. And I couldn’t stop thinking about them. And I was tired of trying to figure out why Ikea refuses to put words in their instruction manuals. Donuts in general cure all of these problems. But these donuts, with graham cracker flavor and chocolate baked (!) right in, and marshmallow glaze? Well I’m pretty sure these can cure all life problems.

As long as your life is full of #firstworldproblems or #trendyproblems. Cures it all!

In all honesty, these are kind of a cross between a donut and a cookie. The outside gets a tiny bit crunchy and the inside is pretty cake-y. I mean, really, I suppose the only thing that makes them a donut is the fact that they are baked in a donut pan – but still a donut is a donut and these wouldn’t work as cookies. I already tried that, remember? I made mine a little on the thinner side because I’m not totally comfortable with my donut pans yet, and I didn’t want to have a overflow problem on my hands. In general, if you fill your pan about 2/3 of the way full your donuts will be perfect  But if you fill them up too much, it’ll bake right over the hole which will then turn your donuts into giant puffs of goodness. Obviously a total win-win situation here.

One more thing: I think they taste the best the day they are made, but that shouldn’t be a problem seeing as how your face probably won’t be able to stay away for much longer. It’s a proven fact that we, as humans, are completely powerless when it comes to marshmallow fluff.

S’mores Donuts (makes 12 normal sized, or a whole lotta mini donuts)

1 cup flour

1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 T baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/2t ground cinnamon

1/4 cup butter, melted

3/4 cup milk

1/2 t vanilla

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

1/4 – 1/2 cup marshmallow fluff

1-2 T milk

graham cracker crumbs, chocolate chips, mini marshmallows, etc for garnishing (optional)

For the donuts: Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl combine your flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. In a small bowl or measuring cup combine the butter, sugar, milk and vanilla. Whisk until totally combined. Add the wet to dry and stir to incorporate everything together. Fold in chocolate chips.

Fill your donut molds about 2/3 of the way full (I find it’s easiest to do this with a pastry bag, but you can use a spoon if you want) and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the donuts are lightly brown on the outside. Invert onto a wire rack and allow to cool slightly before glazing.

For the glaze: Whisk together the fluff and milk until smooth. Start off with 1 tablespoon of milk, adding more if necessary. You want to be able to dip the donut into the glaze and have it drip off so don’t keep it too thick.

To glaze: Dip each donut into the glaze and shake off the excess. If adding toppings do that now and gently press them in so they stay. Alternatively, you can spoon the glaze over the donuts and let the excess drip down. Whatever makes you happy!

 

*I said the word “donut” 12 times in this post – before I even got to the recipe. That’s got to be a new record.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Not a fan of donuts, but I made S’mores oatmeal recently and that was tasty times. Plus I told myself it wasn’t as bad because it had oats. Logic wins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

