Caramelized onion and sausage quiche

I need to let you in on a little secret…

I’m not a fan of eggs. I can handle them in small doses but in general I can’t really stand them. And when I do have to ingest them I’d prefer they be mixed with sausage and covered in cheese and hot sauce. Possibly wrapped in a fluffy flour tortilla. And maybe brought in by a generous co-worker on a Friday morning.

My parents never really took my aversion to eggs kindly and still insisted I eat them every.single. weekend. My dad was all about cooking weekend breakfasts/brunch and he was super all about cooking eggs. We came to an agreement that I would eat a fried egg while the rest of the family ate omelettes. Because I? Would not touch an omelette with a 20-foot pole. No ma’am. Eventually I stopped being a huge baby and would eat them scrambled or deviled. But I was insistent that they be cooked with A TON of spice and other stuff…essentially I wanted my eggs to taste like anything but an egg. Logical, no?

A couple of weeks ago I ate an omelette. I didn’t despise it like I once had, but it’s absolutely not something I will eat on a regular basis. The consistency just weirds me out, man. I feel the same way about fritattas (mainly because they are a giant omelette pretending to be something fancy schmancy. I see right through you evil brunch dish!) aaaaand quiche. I still think quiches are kind of gross.

But I made you one anyway. I’m cool weird like that.

Anybody who knows me in real life knows that sometimes I cook just to cook…not to eat. Like that handmade pasta from a few weeks ago. I didn’t have to spend all afternoon making weirdly shaped pasta, but I did it because I thought I would go crazy if I didn’t. Does that make sense? I have a sort of bucket list of recipes I want to make and it includes dishes I might not like. Quiche is one of them. So is flan, even thought I haaaaaaaate flan. I just need to know that I can do it! Tell me I’m not the only one who’s like this.

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Okay fine, moving on. I made this quiche when I was at my parent’s house because I knew I could keep it in their fridge and not have to worry about it going to waste on my silly non egg-loving self. I did some research and put together a recipe based on a lot of other recipes. I knew I wanted to keep this somewhat healthy, so the crust is very oat-heavy and there’s no cream whatsoever in this dish. Blasphemy!

I tried a little piece and thought it was okay. My parents, however, looooooved it so this one is going down in the ‘win’ column for me.

The gross-looking part of this photo is really just the cheeeeeeeese. Melty cheese makes everything better.

Caramelized onion and sausage quiche (serves 4 generous portions, or 6 normal)

3/4 cup oats

1/2 cup flour

1/4 t salt

3 TB cold butter, cubed

3 TB milk (or buttermilk)

For the filling

4 t olive oil

2 medium onions, thinly sliced

1 cup baby spinach

Sausage (I used chicken sausage)

4 whole eggs

2 egg whites

1 cup evaporate milk (NOT condensed milk!)

1/2 t salt

1/4 t black pepper

1 t red pepper flakes

2 t paprika

2/3 cup cheese (I used gruyere, but any good melty cheese will work)

To make crust: Combine the oats, flour and salt in a food processor and pulse until it resembles course sand. Add in butter and pulse until it is combined. Slowly stream in milk and combine until everything comes together. If it looks a little dry, slowly add more milk. To test, grab a bunch and squeeze your hand together. If the dough stays together, it’s done. Bring dough together, wrap in plastic wrap and stick in the fridge for 30 minutes.

To caramelize the onions: Drizzle the olive oil in a large saucepan (a cast iron skillet works fabulous for this!) on medium-high. Add your onions and a sprinkle of salt. Coat the onions evenly and let them begin cooking. After five minutes turn the heat to low and let onions cook down, stirring occasionally. The onions are done when they’re a deep brown color, but not burnt. This could take anywhere from 25-45 minutes. When the onions are done, turn off the heat and add the spinach. Toss gently to allow spinach to wilt slightly.

Preheat oven to 400

Take out dough and press into pie pan. Make it as even as possible, bringing it up the sides of the pie pan. Make sure there are no holes in the bottom of the crust. If you see some just tear a little dough off from the sides and patch it up. Bake for 10 minutes. Let cool.

While the crust is baking, cook your sausage however you want. Cut into bite-sized pieces and set aside.

In a large bowl whisk the eggs, egg whites, evaporated milk, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and paprika, sausage and half of your cheese.

To assemble quiche: Sprinkle the remaining cheese on the crust. Top with onions and spinach, and then pour the egg mixture over that. (I had a little filling leftover, so I just poured those into a muffin pan and baked them that way. Depending on the size of your pan this might happen to you. No biggie). Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Serve warm.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

