Oatmeal sandwich cookies

Cookies. It’s been a while, huh?

Just for the record, I am currently watching Sex and the City, drinking pink wine and loving life. I’m also wishing I had some of these cookies with me RIGHT NOW seeing as how I made these a million years ago and just totally forgot to tell you guys about them. My bad!

Also for the record, I’m obsessively following Chrissy Teigen’s tweets while she’s at the Billboard Music Awards. Hi-larious. Twitter + funny supermodels totally make up for not having a TV sometimes. I normally don’t gush over models, but good grief do I love this woman. It could be because she’s engaged to John Legend. Or it could be because she’s so mean, but so funny. Or it could be because she has a food blog and loves bacon. But I really think it’s because she literally just tweeted:

I think this is the second time I’ve mentioned her on this blog. That’s so creepy. I’m totally done now.

So these cookies? Are good. Totally reminiscent of those adorable Little Debbie oatmeal sandwich cookies we all use to look forward to in our lunchboxes as kids. And by “we all” I obviously mean “you all” because my parents were into packing out lunches with boring, healthy things. How I came to be the cookie monster person I am today is a total mystery. You could essentially use any oatmeal cookie recipe for this and just stuff them with delicious tooth-achingly sweet marshmallow frosting. My only recommendations are these:

  •  Use a recipe that produces a slightly cakier cookie. They will soften a little bit once they’ve sat with the frosting and are just amazingly good.
  •  I personally prefer these without any raisins or chocolate or anything in the cookies. You do whatever you want, but I think there is enough going on without all that fun stuff.

Alright, I’m done being a bossy pants. Let’s bake cookies!

Wait, this photo makes me happy too.

Okay, nooooowwwww we can get our bake on.

Oatmeal sandwich cookies (makes 15-20)

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup dark brown sugar

1 egg

1 t vanilla

1 1/4 cup rolled oats

1 cup flour

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1 t cinnamon

1/4 t nutmeg

For filling:

1 cup buttercream frosting

1/2 cup marshmallow fluff

1-2 T milk (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg.

Beat sugar and butter for 3-4 minutes until light and fluffy. Add egg and mix. Add vanilla and mix. Slowly add your dry ingredients to the butter mixture and incorporate. Try not to overmix!

Roll dough into tiny little balls (I did about two teaspoons of dough for each). Bake for 10 minutes and let cool completely before frosting and sandwhich-ing.

Beat together frosting and marshmallow fluff until it reaches a smooth consistency, but isn’t too drippy. If the frosting seems a little thick, add a tiny bit of milk.

Spread a generous amount of filling on one cookie (more than is shown in the photos above – for once in my life I was stingy with frosting this day. Weird.) and top with another cookie. Gently press down.

I kept these covered in the fridge. They will last well for 3-4 days – I actually found I liked them best when they’ve sat for a little while.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

