Lemon blueberry yogurt cake

Before we talk about this cake I need to tell you guys that I just spent the last hour standing in the middle of my room, hands on my hips, perma-frown on my face, trying to figure out how to pack my life into two suitcases. I’m moving to San Francisco in a couple of weeks and am essentially starting over. I’m about to hop off a plane with just a dream and a cardigan – Miley style (minus the stripper pole at the Kids Choice Awards). (P.S. Congrats on the engagement to TeamGale). If there’s one thing that moving teaches you it’s that you have far too much stuff and should probably stop complaining about being poor because you obviously had enough money to buy three sets of hot rollers (what? do people still use those?) and four pairs of red pants that have never been worn. By “you”, I totally mean “ME.”

You know what? I feel like people in California wear red pants all the time. And I’ve just now decided to bring hot rollers back. So there. Will somebody buy me a bigger suitcase please? Oh, also I can’t stop singing “Californiaaaaaaaa heere IIIIII coooooooommmmeeee.” Never watched The O.C. but now wish I had since that song was made for my life. Obviously.

In all honesty though I’m wondering if I really should just take a cardigan and nothing else. I’ve just now come to terms with the fact that I can’t pack my dog up…ONLY because he won’t actually fit in a suitcase. And really? Let’s be honest. I will be living in a shoebox. A tiny, studio shoebox that will cost three times more than my current apartment. But I’m not even concerned because I know I’m going to love it. This is literally the most exciting things that has ever, ever, EVER happened to me so no matter where I end up in the city I know I’m going to love it more than anything else.  Other than my dog. Who won’t fit in my suitcase. Wah.

You should know that I’m also drinking ready-made Sangria I bought (and opened) from Walgreens for $4.99 a week ago. I’m just really concerned for my life right now.

In case you’re wondering I haven’t even begun to think about tackling my kitchen. I can’t. I just…can’t. There’s a huge possibility that I’m going to give everything away and just start over in SF. I feel like that sentence should apply to the rest of my life, but we all know I will be lugging all of my shoes with me because heaven forbid I don’t have those purple shoes I bought on sale and wore for three hours. I obviously NEED those. And the damn red pants. I can turn this into a (not so) fashion(able) blog for a few weeks, right? Cool.

I can’t think of an actual way to transition from my sad (but admittedly awesome) life to this cake, so this is your transition sentence. You are most welcome.

I managed to convince myself that this cake was basically breakfast food because it’s made with yogurt and I eat yogurt for breakfast every single day. The logic is there…I just don’t see why other people aren’t following. And blueberries! Fruit! I made you something healthy!

You are so tired of me. I can feel it. Recipe below. LOVE YOU!

Lemon blueberry yogurt cake (from Smitten Kitchen)

1 1/2 cups + 1 T flour

2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 cup yogurt ( I used nonfat Greek yogurt and it was splendid)

1 cup + 1 T sugar

3 eggs

2 t lemon zest

1/2 t vanilla

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 cups blueberries

1/3 cup lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk one cup flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

In another bowl mix the yogurt, one cup sugar, eggs, lemon zest, vanilla and oil. Gently whisk the dry ingredients into the wet and combine. Toss the blueberries with one tablespoon of flour and gently fold into the batter (the flour keeps the berries from sinking to the bottom of the cake!). Pour into a greased loaf pan.

Bake for 50 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. While the cake is baking whisk together one tablespoon of sugar with your lemon juice in a small saucepan. Drizzle all over the cake while it is still warm, allowing all the juice to soak in. Let cool completely before serving.

I found this stayed well for a couple of days while kept in the fridge.

P.S. This cake is super moist – my apologies to anybody who hates that word.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That cake looks way delish, but, more importantly, I will totally take one of those sets of hot rollers off your hands. Some days I’m just sick of my curling iron. 🙂 Congrats on SF! Let us know when you’re all settled in and ready for visitors. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

