Zuppa Toscana

When this goes up I’ll be waaaaaaay up in the air on my way to San Francisco. I still can’t believe it. I’m moving to California! What?! Who does that?? Someone who is all about “chasing their dreams”….that’s who.

And I guess I was so busy “chasing my dreams” I forgot it was 105 MILLION degrees outside……..and I made you soup. In my defense? It’s 60 degrees in San Francisco as I type this. On June 28. If you’re in Texas (which I think many of you are) feel free to hate me.

Also, I just went to weather.com to confirm the 60 degree fact and found that the two saved cities on my parents computer are San Francisco and Las Vegas. Not Austin. Hilarious.

This soup is good and I would totally eat it right now even though it’s literally over 100 degrees outside. I mean, isn’t that what air conditioners were invented for? Duh. But if your summer food pyramid is more about salads, watermelon and mojitos that’s totally okay. Fall will be here soon, and then you can throw on a scarf and eat this soup next to a roaring fire. I assume these things happen in real life?

Oh! Before I forget – this is perfect to make on Sunday and then eat throughout the week OR you can freeze it in individual portions and heat it up whenever OR if you have a family of four you can eat it in one night. Whatever.

Zuppa Toscana (slightly adapted from this recipe)

1 lb sausage (I’ve used spicy, chicken, turkey, etc. Use your favorite!)

1 medium onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 t red pepper flakes

1/4 t dried oregano

1/2 cup white wine

8-10 small red potatoes, quartered

2 cups kale, torn into small pieces

3 cups chicken stock

2 cups water

1 can evaporated milk (or you can use heavy cream. Sassy!)

Salt and pepper to taste

Crumble the sausage in a large pot and cook over medium-high heat until browned. Remove from pot and set aside.

In same pot, add onion and saute for 6-7 minutes until translucent (if you used chicken or turkey sausage that didn’t give off much fat you might want to drizzle in a tiny bit of oil for this). Add garlic, red pepper flakes and oregano and saute for 30 seconds. Pour in white wine and deglaze the pan by scraping up the browned bits.

Add your potatoes, kale, chicken stock and water and bring to a boil. Cover the pot, reduce to low and simmer for about 20 minutes. Lastly, pour in the evaporated milk and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper and serve!

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

