Roasted red pepper and goat cheese sandwich

Real talk time. I miss my parents. I miss them SO much, it’s almost unreal. I am beyond happy here and know moving was the right decision for me, but I really do miss being closer to my parents. Even when I was in San Antonio it was nice to know they were only two hours away. If I had a rough week at work I knew I could jump in my car on Friday afternoon and be on my way to their couch, snuggling with my dog while my mom and I watched all the DVRed episodes of Drop Dead Diva she saved for me. I miss that.

(Okay, I lied. My dog is a jerk and would never let me snuggle with him for a long period of time. Regardless, I miss him too.)

Now if I’ve had a bad week at work, I just jump on BART and hope I don’t get approached by a stranger who wants to sell me drugs and/or eat a burrito with me.

Moving on.

My whole point in the “boo hoo I miss my parents” spiel is because I originally made this sandwich with my mom the week before I left. It was really easy to make and just the most perfect lunch. And c’mon, we all know how much I love goat cheese. Pizza? Pasta? Yes!

It’s a super simple recipe and comes to us from the one and only Ina Garten (aka Barefoot Contessa aka my her0 aka why can’t i just be her??). While it basically is just bread and red peppers and goat cheese (and happiness ), when the ingredients are good, the sandwich is good. Simple logic. I like.

Make this sandwich. And don’t be ashamed if you imagine yourself wearing a skinny scarf and exclaiming “How easy is that?!” while you do. It happens to the best of us.

Roasted red pepper and goat cheese sandwich (slightly adapted from Ina Garten)

4 large red bell peppers (yellow or orange would work too!)

8-10 garlic cloves

1 T balsamic vinegar

2 T good olive oil

2 t salt

1 t freshly ground black pepper

2 T drained capers

1 large ciabatta bread, halved horizontally (we used french bread, but I suggest ciabatta)

1 (11-ounce) package of goat cheese (we used plain, but I suggest herb)

8 to 10 large basil leaves

3 thin slices red onion

Preheat oven to 500.

Wrap the garlic cloves in a small sheet of aluminum foil (creating a little package). Drizzle in a tiny bit of olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Place on a baking sheet along with the bell peppers and bake for 35-40 minutes, until the peppers are charred (like the photo above) and the garlic is fragrant and mushy. Set aside until they are cool enough to touch. Once cool, peel off the skins and quarter the peppers.

While the peppers are cooling, whisk together the balsamic vinegar, oil, capers, salt and pepper. Add in the peppers and let marinate for 15-20 minutes (um, or the full 4 hours as the original recipe states).

Mash together the goat cheese and roasted garlic. Try not to eat it with a spoon.

To assemble the sandwich: Spread both sides of the bread with the goat cheese/garlic mixture. Lay peppers on one side of sandwich, top with red onion and basil. Lay other side of bread on top and cut into 4-6 pieces.

Enjoy!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This looks delicious. Also, you can’t be Ina because you don’t wear enough colorful button downs. Get on that, asap.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

