Super simple brownies

I really hope you’re in the mood for chocolate today. Because these? Are alllllll about the chocolate.

I’m actually not a huge fan of baking brownies from scratch. Will I eat them? Yes, yes I will. All day long. But in my experience most boxed brownies are just as good, if not better, than those made from scratch. EXCEPT for my mom’s brownies. But these we’re talking about today are made from scratch. And they’re delicious. And easy. Super easy! Melt chocolate & butter. Add sugar and eggs. A little bit of vanilla. Stir stir stir. Fold in flour. Bake. TA DA!

I found this recipe on Smitten Kitchen and knew I had to try them. It almost seemed too easy – like I only made them because I was so sure they couldn’t be delicious. I know, I’m such a brat. But once you guys see the recipe for my mom’s brownies you’ll know what I mean. There is whole list of ingredients, and you have to make a frosting in a pot. On the stove! And you have to beat it with a mixer. And ugh, life is just so hard. But really, they’re like an intermediate level on the baking scale. It took me a couple of tries to get them right, which is why they’re not on the blog yet. I’m thinking they’re a year two post. But  trust me, they’re worth it. Soooooo worth it. They’re moist (shudder) and cake-y and with the frosting they are just the most magical thing your face has ever met. I can’t even handle it.

But we’re not talking about those – focus! So these brownies are of the fudge variety. And they are good. And easy. So good and easy. I might go out on a limb and say that if I didn’t have so many personal childhood memories attached to those other brownies, these might be my favorite. Maybe. But I feel a little dirty saying that. So let’s pretend I didn’t.

I made them this weekend to take to work for a little birthday bake-off we were having. Although it was suppose to be a non-judging bake-off everybody totally judged. I mean, we’re human. And then this is the part where I’m suppose to tell you that everybody raved and I totally won.

But no. That didn’t happen. In fact, I might have lost (to apple cider caramel cookies and cake pops, I should add. Tough competition). At some point I was told they were a 4 out of 5 stars. Whatever. It’s not like I’m mad or anything.* BUT I would like to point out that there was not one single brownie left at the end of the day. So there.

Actions speak louder than words, yo.

Super simple brownies (from Smitten Kitchen)

Makes one 8×8 pan

3 oz unsweetened chocolate (must be unsweetened – trust me!!)

1 stick of butter

1 1/3 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 t vanilla

1/4 t salt

2/3 cup flour

Preheat oven to 350. Spray your pan with a baking spray, or butter and flour it.

Melt chocolate and butter together. You can either do this on the stove or in the microwave – I, of course, chose the microwave (took about two minutes). Once chocolate and butter are fully melted and smooth, whisk in sugar. Next whisk in eggs, one at a time. Add in vanilla and salt and whisk some more. Lastly, fold in flour. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until brownies are set. Let cool completely before cutting!

*Seriously, I’m so not mad. Can we just all agree that cake pops are the greatest invention this world has ever seen?!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hammer

     /  September 26, 2012

    That “contest” was rigged! Chocolate always beats fruit in a dessert competition and cake balls, while adorable yes, get automatically disqualified becaused they’re too small. Brownies win. Miss you.

    Reply
  2. Soniya

     /  August 14, 2013

    Have you tried making these eggless? I was going to replace the 2 eggs with 1/2 cup yogurt…

    Reply
    • I haven’t tried them eggless, but please let me know how it turns out! I’ve also heard good things about replacing eggs with either tofu (pureed first, of course) or flax seeds + water. Yogurt is probably easier, though 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

