Cherries & chocolate chip cookies

I’ve gotten so bad at this blogging thing that I genuinely can’t remember when I made these. I do know that I took them with me to an Alanis Morisette concert (what? doesn’t everybody take cookies to concerts?) but I’m too lazy to remember how long ago that was.

I also know that I made these for no other reason than that I wanted to. I felt like I hadn’t made cookies in SO long, and that I was losing part of myself (drama, much?). There’s just something about shaping little balls of cookie dough and sticking a pan in the oven that makes me feel good, you know? It’s probably because cookies were my first foray into the kitchen. I started baking when I was pretty young and…….just never really stopped. And not to put myself down or anything, but baking was one of the first things I was ever actually good at. I liked that I could read a recipe, follow directions (sometimes) and produce something delicious. I think I sometimes crave that sense of accomplishment (especially when work is bonkers) because it’s an automatic self-confidence riser for me. Not to say I’m perfect, of course. A couple of years ago I forgot to put sugar in a pumpkin loaf,  and last week I made the worst banana bread known to mankind. I mean these things happen, right? But it’s okay. If you mess up, just eat a cookie. And if it’s the cookie that you messed up, eat it anyway. I refuse to believe a cookie could be that bad.

Also? It’s starting to get to that time of year. When the pumpkins show up I naturally start getting the itch to bake. And frankly, once December hits I will be unstoppable. Like, fear for your lives, it’s about to get crazy up in this kitchen.

But for now we just have these cookies. They are my normal chocolate chip cookies, buuuuuuuut I put dried cherries in them. What? I was feeling sassy! Also, I had dried cherries in my pantry (which is actually just a bookshelf in our living area. Yay tiny kitchens!). You can really add whatever you want to these – that’s kind of the best thing about cookies. Once you have a base you can let loose and really get crazy. Raisins? M&Ms? Pretzels? Potato chips?! Yes, yes, yes and why the heck not?!?!

Happy baking!

Cherries & chocolate chip cookies (makes 18-30 cookies, depending on size)

Adapted from these cookies

2 cups + 2 T flour

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

12 T butter, melted and cooled

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup regular sugar

1 egg + 1 yolk

2 t vanilla

1/2 cup dried cherries

1/2-3/4 cup chocolate chips

Mix flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 325. Whisk butter and sugars until you create a grainy paste.

Add egg, yolk and vanilla and whisk until everything is combined. Add in dry ingredients slowly and mix until everything is incorporated. I’ve never had trouble with this step, but if the dough seems too dry just mix it with your hands – it will come together, I promise!

Add in chocolate and dried cherries. Mix to incorporate.

Scoop dough balls (your choice on size) onto a cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes (depending on size of cookies) until the edges are set but the middle is still a little puffy and gooey. Let sit on cookie sheet for 1-2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

P.S. Eat an extra cookie because they have fruit in them which automatically makes them healthy. Duh.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

