Chipotle chicken and chickpea stew

It’s officially November, which means it is definitely fall. Like, there is no question it is fall. Except, apparently where I live. Because it was an amazing 75 degrees and sunny today, and I almost passed out walking to the grocery store because it felt hot. Summer hot. Not we’re 18 days away from Thanksgiving (!!) hot. I had been warned about the weird summer in the fall thing that happens in SF, but it’s still hard for me to wrap my head around. Basically, it’s cold in July and hot in for like six days in October and November. And that is our summer.

So even though I wore shorts all weekend I want you all to know that I’m in the correct, fall state of mind. I’ve been burning candles named Pumpkin Cupcake and Cider Lane, I’ve made three huge pots of chili since the beginning of October (working on a perfect recipe to share!), bought at least five new scarves and I just ordered three new pairs of boots. See? Totally fall in my head.

Also poor. My head is poor. Turns out candles, scarves and boots cost money. Womp womp.

Anyway. Even though other people were at a park today, drinking a cold beer and enjoying the sunshine, I was inside making this stew and crying because I thought it would be a good idea to watch P.S. I Love You, a movie I’m convinced I don’t have the emotional stability for. But don’t worry too much about me. I spent yesterday at the park, drinking a beer and enjoying the sunshine. I mean, it is summer isn’t it?

I wasn’t even planning on sharing this with you, but after I had a taste I immediately got my camera and had a 10 second photo shoot. It was surprisingly delicious. As usual, I didn’t really measure out any of the spices or anything but this is the kind of dish you make to taste. Add more vegetables if you want. Take out the chicken, replace the chicken stock with vegetable stock and you’ve got yourself a (delicious) vegan stew. You can also adjust the spice to your liking – I added enough chipotle to give it a good smokiness. Feel free to use more or less depending on your taste buds.

I hope you guys enjoy this one. Happy November!!

Chipotle chicken and chickpea stew (serves 4)

1 lb chicken thighs

2 t olive oil

2 shallots, thinly sliced

5 garlic cloves, smashed

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 T ground cumin

1 T paprika

2 chipotles in adobe + sauce, roughly chopped

1 can diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted)

2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 cups chicken stock

salt and pepper

Heat oil in a large saucepan. Sear chicken until brown, about 2 minutes on each side. Transfer to a plate and set aside.

In same saucepan, add shallots and sauté until soft. Add smashed garlic cloves and stir for another 30 seconds. Next add red pepper, ground cumin and paprika. Stir it all together until the spices coat everything in the pan (if it looks too dry, feel free to add in a tiny bit more oil). Transfer chicken back in the pan and add in the tomatoes, chickpeas, chipotle peppers (I like to add in some of the sauce as well – but that’s up to you) and stir to combine. Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 20-30 minutes, until the chicken is completely cooked through and tender.

You can serve this by itself, over quinoa, couscous or rice, or with a bunch of crusty bread. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sounds delicious. Also, TX doesn’t feel very fall right now either…but that’s not new.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

