Oatmeal raisin (and rum) cookies

DSCN1270

Note: I wrote this TWO WEEKS AGO and just now realized I never posted it. I should probably stop putting alcohol in my cookies, huh?

I’m about to say something that might be a little controversial, but we’re friends so I feel safe saying this to you: Rum is better in baked goods than a glass. 

There I said it. Are you still here? Please don’t leave me…I just can’t help the way I feel. And seriously? Are you really going to tell me you’d prefer to drink a rum and coke than eat a delicious slice of rum cake?! No, you’re not because that would be ridiculous. Rum cake is quite possibly one of the greatest things that has ever come out of an oven. EVER.

(My mom has an amazing recipe for rum cake. I promise I’ll share it with you at some point in the future.)

DSCN1266

Aside from cake, rum is perfect in cupcakes (which I guess are still cake, but I’m going to continue making my point), pudding, pie and cookies. It’s just the perfect alcohol for baking because it’s naturally a little sweet and when it bakes it leaves the most delicious flavor soaked in your dessert. It just has something other alcohol doesn’t! I feel like we can all agree that vodka is best combined with club soda and lime. Whiskey is best on the rocks (and far, far away from me). Tequila is best served next to a giant bowl of chips and salsa. Wine is…well, wine can be drunk alone or added to almost any dish. Wine is perfect. But Rum? Put it in a bowl and mix it with flour, butter and sugar. You won’t regret it.

I found this recipe when I was home for the holidays. Since it was just my dad and me for a week, I figured it’d be safer to make just 12 cookies, instead of the 12 DOZEN I normally would. And along with the cheesecake, scones and 80 other dishes I made….these were juuuuust enough. The recipe is pretty much perfect so I didn’t change a thing (except add a tiny bit more rum and spice – I am who I am).

Hope you guys try these out!

Plate of cookies

 

Oatmeal Raisin Rum Cookies (from Dessert for Two)

Makes one dozen

1/2 cup raisins

2-3 T dark rum

3 T butter, softened

3 T brown sugar

3 T sugar

1 egg yolk

1/4 cup + 2 T flour

1/4t + 1/8 t baking powder

1/4 t baking soda

1/2 t ground cinnamon

1/4 t allspice

1/8 t salt

1/2 cup rolled oats

Preheat the oven to 350. Put raisins in a small bowl and pour rum over them. Let them soak as you prepare the dough.
Cream together the butter and sugars for 1-2 minutes. Once combined and a little fluffy, add in the egg yolk and cream for 30 more seconds.
In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, allspice, and salt. Add half of it to the butter and sugar mixture, mixing until just combined. Add the other half and combine, but make sure not to over mix. Stir in the oats and raisins – including any rum that was not absorbed (not that I needed to tell you that).
Divide into 12 balls and bake 13-15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

