Spinach artichoke quesadillas

DSCN1330

There are certain combinations in my life that are just always there. Pretzels and hummus. Roasted vegetables and goat cheese. Chocolate and coconut. Stripes and red pants (obsessed – don’t ask me why). Bronzer and my face. Wine and my mouth. These things just belong together, people!

But spinach and artichoke? I’m such a weirdo about this one. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE this combination but it’s like I constantly forget I love it. For instance, I think about chocolate and coconut every waking moment of my life. If I’m roasting vegetables it means I have goat cheese nearby. But if I have spinach? It’s either going in pasta or dying in my fridge. And I can barely remember where to find canned artichokes at the store ( I always think they’ll be by the condiments instead of the obvious canned vegetable section).

I feel like nobody every talks about spinach artichoke dip. Like, we all look at it on the menu during happy hour but then we decide it’s more of a “drink your dinner” type of night and order another round. Then an hour later we order sweet potato fries. That’s real life. Spinach artichoke dip is not.

All of this spinach/artichoke nonchalance leads me to tell you that I’m obsessed with these quesadillas. OBSESSED. I mean, we all know everything is better in a tortilla/pita/bread/whatever. If I were the betting type, I think I would actually bet  at least 70% of foods taste better when rolled, stuffed or sandwiched between a carb of sort. So can you even imagine this? Hot, melty spinach artichoke dip oozing out of a (lightly) fried tortilla. And cheese. So much cheese. I can’t even handle it. I just can’t.

DSCN1332

Okay that was a lie. I’ve eaten these no less than three times since I first made them a month ago so I can most definitely handle these.

DSCN1333

Spinach Artichoke Quesadillas

Serves 2-4

2 teaspoons olive oil

1/2 red onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 teaspoons paprika

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 can (~1.5 cups) artichoke hearts, roughly chopped

10 oz frozen spinach, thawed (squeeze out excess liquid)

2 oz cream cheese

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

4 tortillas, flour or whole wheat

4 teaspoons olive oil

1 cup cheese, grated (use your favorite – mozzarella, monterrey jack, colby, etc., all work well here)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated

Heat 2 teaspoons of oil in a large frying pan. Once oil is hot, add onion and sauté until soft. Add garlic and sauté for another 3o seconds. Then add artichoke hearts, paprika and red pepper flakes. Let cook for 2-3 minutes and then stir in spinach (really make sure to squeeze out the excess liquid!!). Once spinach has cooked down a bit and is completely warmed through, add cream cheese and stir to incorporate.  If things start looking dry at any point feel free to add a bit more oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste – this is also a good time to add more spice if you feel it’s lacking. Remove filling from pan and set aside.

To assemble quesadillas

Wipe pan (yep, this is a one-pan wonder) and heat one teaspoon of oil. Add tortilla, flipping after 10 seconds. Sprinkle 1/4 cup of cheese all over the tortilla. Add /4 of the filling to one side of the tortilla and sprinkle filling with parmesan cheese. Once all the cheese starts to melt a little fold the other half over to form a half moon/taco shape. Allow to fry (flipping once) until golden brown and melty. Repeat with remaining tortillas, filling and cheese.

Serve warm and enjoy! (P.S. Don’t ask me why, but these taste delicious dipped in barbecue sauce.)

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Soniya

     /  October 8, 2013

    Yummm, thanks for sharing!

    I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, and corn tortillas instead of wheat– can’t wait to make them again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Tweets!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Click to follow this blog and get new posts delivered to your inbox. So fancy!

  • Categories

