July favorites

We’re halfway through August, but let’s go back in time and discuss July, shall we?  (P.S. How is it August and where is my life going. Somebody please explain.)

I know I say this every month, but this time I really forced myself to pick just a few (okay, more than a few) products. This won’t take long, I promise! Onto pretty thing!

DSCN1689

I have a lot of nonsense beauty stuff. We all know this. The reason why I have all this stuff? Because I’m a marketers DREAM. It’s takes very, very little to convince me that a product will change my life. Even if I have proof that something won’t work the way it promises to, if I see a picture of Beyonce wearing it there is a 60% chance I’m going to buy it. This lotion spray-thing was one of those purchases (minus the Beyonce aspect). It just screams “GIMMECKY” which obviously means it screamed my name as well. Much to my surprise though, I love this stuff! It comes out in a really fine mist so it’s not super moisturizing, but I actually like to put it over my regular lotion. Just for a little extra softness, because why not?

DSCN1699

I’m normally not a foundation girl. I’ve been pretty lucky so far, and feel pretty happy with myself sans-foundation. However, this past month I’ve had some weird stress-breakouts (yea, that happens) so I like to keep a foundation on-hand just in case I need it. I only wore this a handful of times the entire month, but I must say I really like this Revlon Nearly Naked foundation. It’s super light, but still evens out my skin tone. And with a little concealer, my breakouts are basically covered. I’ve tried different applications, and this brush is by far the best way for me to apply. It’s so soft and makes me feel like a legit makeup artist.

DSCN1693

Eyes! The Make Up For Ever cream shadow was a definite splurge for me, but it is really nice. I use this on days when I don’t want to spend a ton of time on makeup because it’s so easy to work with. Just swipe it on with my fingers and go (after a little liner and ALL the mascara, of course). Compared to the Maybelline Color Tattoo cream shadows, these are a little creamier, but those are completely amazing and I would recommend them if you’re not looking to spend too much. Speaking of color tattoos, Maybelline came out with pigments in that line AND OH MY GOD THEY ARE PERFECT. I love me some pigments and these are so pretty – naturally, I already own three and am just waiting for them to come out with new colors. Ugh, so good.

DSCN1696

I know I talked about this palette in last month’s favorites, but I’m still loving it! You’ll notice that it’s missing a few colors because it fell and a few of the shadows shattered (along with part of my heart), but one of my favorites stayed intact and I’ve been using it pretty frequently. Sometimes, if I’m feeling really shimmery (can one “feel” shimmery?), I’ll put some of the above pigment on top of this shadow. Sounds crazy because it is.

DSCN1702

If you’ve held off on judging me until now, I would suggest you just start. I have no business owning any of these lip glosses, yet here we are. The Revlon Super Lustrous line is my favorite line of glosses and has been for years. They recently repackaged them and came out with some new colors that I am loving – Kiss Me Coral, Super Natural and Fatal Apple are the ones up there. Glosses are one of those things that I pretty much always apply before I leave my place (over a stain or lipstick, normally) but nobody would ever know because it’s gone before I even make it to the BART station. I think because lip gloss was one of the first makeup items I was ever allowed to wear I just haven’t been able to let it go.

DSCN1705

This e.l.f.  highlighter cost $3 and I randomly found it when I was doing a little makeup reorganization. We know how I feel about highlighters, and while I still think I prefer a powder formula I really like this color. It’s a shimmery bronze and looks really pretty on top of the cheekbones. And if I’m feeling really sassy, I’ll sometimes mix this into the foundation above for a little extra glow.

DSCN1691

HAIR! Okay, so this CHI Silk stuff is just AMAZING. I’ve heard about it for years but never bought it because it’s a little pricey. Finally, I just couldn’t stand it anymore so I bought a small size to try out. I honestly don’t even know how to explain what this does to my hair. I do know that the only reason I can air dry my hair and go out in public is because of this is serum. I apply it to damp hair just from the ears down, and it keeps my thick, wavy hair from becoming a total pouf ball. You only need a tiny, tiny bit as too much can make you look a little greasy but if you have thick, hard to manage hair I would highly suggest. The weird, waxy stuff is a Got2B pomade I bought when my friend and I decided we wanted to try to make our own salt spray. The spray was okay, but I started to use this pomade since I had it lying around and grew to actually love it. Again, it works on my hair  type and just helps to define the waves and keep them in place.

DSCN1704

Can we please just discuss this nail polish?! I’m normally not a huge fan of nail art, but I bought this Sally Hansen “magnetic” polish years ago when it first came out, wore it maybe once and then promptly forgot about it. When I rediscovered it I immeditely put it on and then spent the next week obsessed with my nails. Even though I obviously screwed up (as evidenced by the polish on the cap), it’s super easy to use and fun if you’re looking for something a little different.

Aaaaaand we’re done. I’ll be back with food soon enough!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

